Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Changing RAM timings

This is a discussion on Changing RAM timings within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have 2x2GB OCZ pc6400 800mhz 1.8v RAM at the default 5-5-5-5-18 timings, and I don't think I'm getting


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2009, 06:27 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 60
OS:



Hi,

I have 2x2GB OCZ pc6400 800mhz 1.8v RAM at the default 5-5-5-5-18 timings, and I don't think I'm getting the most out of it because it lags sometimes on games like COD2.

I thought it would help tightening up the RAM timings, but as its a new PC i don't want to fry anything. So my question is, is it risky changing the RAM timings? Is it worth it, like is it noticeable? and what RAM timings do you think I should go for?
I have an ASUS p5QL PRO motherboard btw

Thanks
ben31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2009, 07:10 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 60
OS:



Also, i have a SATA hdd and was told if i took the jumper off the back then it increases the speeds, is this true? because i read that someone that did that and the OS didn't load and they had to clear the cmos and put the jumper back on to boot properly . and i thought you weren't meant to take the jumpers off, just move them.
ben31 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 01:59 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,058
OS: Win7



Sata II drives have jumpers to lower the speed to make Compatible with Sata I, If the someone you read about had a Sata I motherboard and took the jumper off...........

What is you ram rated for? If it's 4-4-4-12 @ 2.0v then it's possible but if you bought 5-5-5-18 @1.8v I would not tighten them up.
Wrench97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2009, 12:53 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 60
OS:



ok thanks your help
ben31 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts