Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Burnt Power Supply

This is a discussion on Burnt Power Supply within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently upgraded my computer with a new video card, more ram, and a new power supply. Everything was working


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2009, 10:16 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
OS:



I recently upgraded my computer with a new video card, more ram, and a new power supply. Everything was working well for about a month and a half, then I came home one day and my computer smelt burnt. I figured out that it's the power supply since I plugged in my old one with just the motherboard and it turns on. The thing is I don't have a clue what caused the power supply to burn. I'm worried that if I buy a new power supply the same thing might happen. I also noticed that the new PSU said US cord on it and I live in Canada. Could that be the problem?

My computer:
gtx 280
8 gigs of ram
intel pentium D
700W OCZ power supply
windows 7 beta
ieatpie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



As far as the cord no North America all uses the same 115v circuitry.

Which model OCZ supply?

For a GTX280 I would normally recommend at least a 750w lately with the Corsair 850tx being so close in price to the 750TX i've been using & recommending that.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 11:41 AM   #3
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


buy a better power supply from corsair or seasonic and make sure it is atleast 750w but as Wrench said the corsair 850tx price is very close to the corsair 750tx prive so get that.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2009, 12:01 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
OS:



The power supply model is OCZ700SXS.
I figured 700W would be enough but I guess it isn't.

I just ordered the Corsair 850tx today so I should be good.

Thanks for the help
ieatpie is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 12:39 PM   #5
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Before installing the new PSU. I would suggest an On The Bench assembly or at least connect one thing at a time to be certain no other hardware was damaged.



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 01:30 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



The OCZ unit does have a 3 year warranty, so return it for the replacement and sell it off on eBay to recoup so of the costs.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts