Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Built A Non Working PChttps://www.techsupportforum.com/images/smilies/1-upset.gif

This is a discussion on Built A Non Working PChttps://www.techsupportforum.com/images/smilies/1-upset.gif within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. OK, I have only just joined techsupport literally 5 minutes ago, so please be patient. I am also only 15


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2008, 11:48 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:


Evil

OK, I have only just joined techsupport literally 5 minutes ago, so please be patient. I am also only 15 years old, but have an immense passion for computing.
I currently have a Hp 530 Laptop
I wanted to build myself a computer as in the past i have done many upgrades and repairs on PC's i thought it was about time i set a real challenge.
I bought a :

MSI 865GM2 motherboard with a processor combo, the processor is an Intel Celeron D 2.8 GHz.(Used, yet fully tested)
I have a nice looking gaming case which has 2 inhale/exhaust fans(1 at front and 1 at back.)
I have quite a beefy 500W iCute power supply(new)
I have inserted a stick of RAM which i am unsure on to be honest as i googled the serial number(the stick is old) i found it is a 512mb but didnt understand much else. The serial number is = ct6464z335.l16f
I have a SATA 160GB hard drive, i also plugged in a graphics card to test(You will see why later)

I run the machine on a known working monitor, and all the fans come on, i could hear the hard drive and feel it, yet, nothing come up on the screen, and when i say nothing, i mean the screens light stayed orange. This was when i tried it with the graphics card, still the same.

Any help would be much appreciated as i have been building this PC on and off for over a year now with different components. Thanks.
Jim.
mildren4ever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2008, 12:20 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



The power supply isn't the greatest but try doing the bench test first, using just the onboard video, the cpu, heat sink and fan, 1 stick of ram, If you still get nothing and if you have a motherboard speaker pull the ram and it should beep continuously.> https://www.techsupportforum.com/f255...em-171424.html

I'll see what can find on the ram.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 12:31 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



Thanks for the ridiculously fats response:D

I am trying the bench test now, if this fails, can you please suggest the RAM requirements for a new stick?
Thanks,
Jim.
mildren4ever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2008, 12:36 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



The Ram is DDR 333 PC2700 so it should work in the board> https://www.crucial.com/store/mpartsp...084DB5A5CA7304
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:00 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



Just tried the bench test and failed, also i saw an article that these motherboards have trouble with anything but 320Mhz RAM?

I am really sorry to do this but i really dont understand clock speeds or PC???? at all, please can you explain it to me

also, as a huge favour, can you find a stick of ram that will work from this site
www.cex.co.uk

thanks,
Jim.
mildren4ever is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:05 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



Quote:
Originally Posted by mildren4ever View Post
Just tried the bench test and failed, also i saw an article that these motherboards have trouble with anything but 320Mhz RAM? Do you have a link to that I don't remember any 320Mhz Ram?

I am really sorry to do this but i really dont understand clock speeds or PC???? at all, please can you explain it to me

also, as a huge favour, can you find a stick of ram that will work from this site
www.cex.co.uk

thanks,
Jim.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:09 PM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



They have a strange way of listing Ram Apparently to them it all the same. > https://www.cex.co.uk/products/Comput...emory&mode=buy
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:11 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



i am looking for it now, i am not guaranteeing it said this but this is what i remember, in the meantime could you please explain what all these clock speeds mean?
Thanks,
Jim.
mildren4ever is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:15 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



https://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ems-79650.html

10th comment down.

Thanks, Jim. Post Back ASAP please.
mildren4ever is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:25 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



Thinking they are talking about the Ram speed But have a look at this it's a little dated but explains what the different speeds are> https://www.memorystock.com/memory_explained.html
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:30 PM   #11
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



Here's the post>
Ok I quickly ran down to the local store to pick up a 512 module and voila, no continous beep, but now however there is nothing. No beep and no display, I hear the cd and hard drives running but nothing happens otherwise.

Seeing as the PSU does seem to work could this now be down to just the motherboard or cpu?

Edit: Issue solved!!
It was the memory module, apparantly the chipset doesn't work too well with that memory module as it will only run at 320mhz. The display screen error was simply the graphic card ( I had plugged my monitor into the integrated video rather than the AGP video card).
Thank you all for your help, it's been invaluble!


His pc ran but the particular ram he bought ran at a slower speed than advertised. He could not see anything on the screen because he had the monitor hooked to the wrong VGA port.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:39 PM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



ok thanks, what do you suggest i do from here?
Jim.
mildren4ever is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:55 PM   #13
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



"if you have a motherboard speaker pull the ram and it should beep continuously"
Did you do this?
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:57 PM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



how do i know i i have a motherboard speaker?
do you mean pull the ram out while the motherboard is attempting to boot?
Thanks,
Jim.
mildren4ever is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:01 PM   #15
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



Pull the ram before turning on, a good MB, CPU combo will will give a bios beep code error.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:15 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



Just done that and there was no noise whatsoever, is there anything it could be before i return the item?
mildren4ever is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:24 PM   #17
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



Did you verify there is a motherboard speaker hooked up?
If it is and the CPU tested good, the power supply is good the 20 or 24 pin main and the 4 pin cpu(2 yellow & 2 black wires) connector is hooked up then I would think the board is bad
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:33 PM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
OS:



how can i test if i have a MB speaker?
mildren4ever is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:51 PM   #19
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



It plugs into the front panel connector usually if there is not one built into the board.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 12-19-2008, 03:14 PM   #20
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,056
OS: Win7



Looks like your board has one built on the board
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MotherBSpkr.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	79.9 KB
ID:	39634  
Wrench97 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts