Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Black Screen?

This is a discussion on Black Screen? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am currently having a very bizarre problem with my computer. Some games will install fine and then when I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2009, 05:25 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



I am currently having a very bizarre problem with my computer. Some games will install fine and then when I try to play them they black screen. They appear in task manager but the process is idling at the same number. Eg. 4567. It will stay at that. Nothing else happens.

The games this has happened to are extremely varied. World in conflict, Need for speed pro street, need for speed most wanted, spiderman 3 (previously worked), flatout 2, AVP2, Spore. This happens to all of these games.

Games that do work: Call of Duty 4 and GH3.

I am running:

AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual core processor 4000+
2.1 GHz

1Gb DDR2 RAM

PX8600 GTS video card 512Mb built in memory

37.2 Gb internal hard drive
500gb external
120gb portable external
750gb internal

Logitech LX 300 wireless keyboard
Logitech wireless mouse

22" monitor

2 speakers and a subwoofer

I've done all the simple stuff, such as reinstalls and such.

Any help is much appreciated.
Small Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2009, 06:54 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



power supply
brand
wattage



dai is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 07:19 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Asus Atx 300w 1p Sw 1s
Small Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2009, 07:36 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



power supply is on the light side for agp
and totally underpowered for pcie



dai is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:02 AM   #5
Team Manager, Gaming
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 7,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


Can you hear sounds while there is a black screen? or nothing happens?
RockmasteR is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:27 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Nothing happens. No sound nor video.
Small Guy is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:40 PM   #7
Obama I's my father
 
nonamedsomebody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 426
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


I would bump that power supply up a bit to at least a 500-600watt power supply.
__________________
Intel E8400
Evga 8800GT OC Edition
2GB G-skill DDR2
nonamedsomebody is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 01:46 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Got a new power supply. 500w. Made NO difference.
Small Guy is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 03:40 AM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what brand and model



dai is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 03:44 AM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Bliss 500w silent power supply. 20 +4 pin. ATX power supply unit.

That's all that's on there.
Small Guy is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 04:06 AM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running agp or pcie

https://www.techsupportforum.com/f210...on-192217.html



dai is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 05:02 AM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



PCI Express
Small Guy is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 05:19 AM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you need to be up in this quality range at a min
you can tell the quality by the price
https://www.ple.com.au/?p=snapshot&inventory_id=30691



dai is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 05:50 AM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Mine cost $99
Small Guy is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 05:57 AM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



in this country you need to double that for a quality unit they are in the 170-250 dollar range
the cheaper ones are low quaility oem crap



dai is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 06:09 AM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
OS:



Damn. Well that really sucks. Still it's better than what it was. I probably should have spent a little more, but in the end it might help take the strain off of the system a little. That's all I can really ask for.
Small Guy is offline  
Old 01-10-2009, 04:32 PM   #17
Obama I's my father
 
nonamedsomebody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 426
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


get one like this https://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...472&CatId=1483
__________________
Intel E8400
Evga 8800GT OC Edition
2GB G-skill DDR2
nonamedsomebody is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts