Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Best brand and amount of RAM...

This is a discussion on Best brand and amount of RAM... within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey I have a question. I have had my computer for over a year but it was built with some


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-31-2009, 05:31 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



Hey I have a question. I have had my computer for over a year but it was built with some good stuff. I want to upgrade the RAM but want to buy a good brand and buy something fast. I also am not sure at which point extra ram becomes unusable by my dual core (I believe it's 4 gigs?).

Running Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit on:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6400+
Core speed 3207MHz
and I have an ATI Radeon HD 3870 video card

DDR2 2gigs at the moment

if you need any other info on the computer let me know.
adura is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2009, 06:20 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,153
OS: All Microsoft Operating Systems

My System


Here is a decent (thought a little dated) article on RAM and their ratings.

https://www.pcworld.com/article/11346...ur_system.html

Your system, since it is 64-bit will support as much RAM as your system will hold. Assuming your system doesn't hold more than 192GB which I believe is the limit on Windows 7.

As far as what's best... Check your system requirements first, then get the best that it will support. However, many may debate, you are not going to be able to tell much of difference between BEST RAM and CHEAPEST RAM. We are talking about Nanoseconds or even better yet 10th's of nanoseconds.

I myself prefer Kingston RAM.

Sure, if you provide your system information it would be of GREAT help. Especially if it is a custom build. The motherboard will be the MOST important factor on the custom build.

Thanks!
IT-Tech is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 06:45 PM   #3
Troubled
 
Phædrus241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 4,862
OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


We need to know what brand and model motherboard you are using. We usually recommend two sticks of one or two gigabytes each.

Quality brands: Corsair, G.Skill, OCZ, Crucial, Mushkin, Patriot

Kingston is alright but the hardware team doesn't usually recommend it. Some people like Geil, but again the hardware team has had mixed experiences.
Phædrus241 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



Ah yes, sorry about that. It's custom built, not from Dell or anything like that.

Motherboard: ASUS M2R32-MVP
Chipset is ATI Xpress 3200 (RD580)

It's capable of CrossFire but I don't have it set up, it only has one video card. I wanted the option to do it later.

I have 4 slots to put the ram in on the motherboard.
adura is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 07:48 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,153
OS: All Microsoft Operating Systems

My System


Hi and I'll back out of this one and let the hardware guys make a suggestion.

However, here is a link to the crucial website along with RAM they have for your specific motherboard (guaranteed upgrade memory). The hardware guys may have something better than what is specifically designed for your system.

https://www.crucial.com/store/listpar...odel=M2R32-MVP

Thanks and good luck!
IT-Tech is offline  
Old 11-01-2009, 06:07 AM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



DDR2800 is the standard for that Mobo. Crucial & Kingston are good standard usage RAM but for performance RAM I prefer Corsair-OCZ-G.Skill. 2X1 or 2X2GB matched pairs as suggested earlier.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-01-2009, 10:11 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



sounds great! thanks guys!
adura is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts