Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

battery voltage low

This is a discussion on battery voltage low within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My dell desktop pc keeps coming up with the message, "battery voltage low press f1 to continue" how can i


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2017, 09:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Pro OA



My dell desktop pc keeps coming up with the message, "battery voltage low press f1 to continue" how can i fix this and will it ruin my pc?
sade80 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2017, 02:02 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Your CMOS battery is most likely dying. I would recommend seeking a replacement.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 04-10-2017, 08:45 AM   #3
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


I note the OP specified this was his "desktop PC", not a laptop.

So assuming it really is a desktop, and the error is real, it can mean 1 of 2 things. Either your CMOS battery is failing, or you have this PC connected to a UPS and the UPS is reporting those batteries are too low.

The CMOS battery is typically a CR2032 "wafer" battery that is mounted on the motherboard. These typically cost a couple dollars and can be found at most battery counters. Unplug the computer from the wall, open the side panel and touch bare metal of the case interior to discharge any static in your body. Then carefully pry out the old battery, noting the polarity.

Do not touch the new battery with your bare fingers. Skin oils promote corrosion and attract dust. I put a clean sock over my hand. Insert the new battery, noting again the proper polarity.

Make sure the interior of the computer is clean of heat trapping dust while in there.

Connect power and boot directly into the BIOS Setup Menu. Set date and time and make sure your boot order correctly points to your boot drive. Then Save and Exit to boot normally and see if you get the error.

If you have your computer connected to a UPS (and kudos to you if you do), then note UPS batteries typically need to be replaced every 3 - 4 years. You will need to check your UPS manual for battery specs and instructions to replace. Note you do not have to buy UPS replacement batteries from the UPS maker. You can, but they will cost you a premium.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2017, 12:53 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Pro OA



Thanks. It was the extension cable. I bought a new one and it works fine now. The message doesn't show up anymore.
sade80 is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 12:58 PM   #5
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Extension cable? To what?
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 02:38 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Pro OA



Sorry I meant extension lead plug socket like this one:

4-Way Extension lead - CLAS OHLSON | Clas Ohlson
sade80 is offline  
Old 04-12-2017, 08:00 AM   #7
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Interesting - and scary! For a simple extension lead like that to reduce the line voltage such that you get errors, there would have to be significant resistance being introduced. And that most likely would have generated some unwelcomed and potentially dangerous heat. If you have not already, I would urge you to cut the cable on that device and toss it in trash so nobody else can use it.

Thanks for posting your reply.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 04-13-2017, 04:34 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Pro OA



It started happening again today. So this time I took the plug out of the extension and put it directly into the wall socket.

The message disappeared again but then I switched the pc on again just now and it appeared again.
sade80 is offline  
Old 04-13-2017, 05:58 AM   #9
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

I would strongly suggest the following -
replace the cmos battery as per the above
install surge protection between the wall and your powersupply.
__________________
Boeing 787 Dreamliner Register
The worlds premier Dreamliner site
www.b787register.co.uk
VividProfessional is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire new battery does not give notification of low levels
I have had two new batteries for my Acer Aspire S3 laptop, I returned the first one but the second has the same problem. It shows about 4 hours available when charged which is about all one can expect but it does not give a notifacion when it reaches Low and Critical levels. The computer just shuts...
TerryT Laptop Support 9 04-20-2016 03:31 AM
system battery voltage low
this is the alert message i get upon start up fro the last three days. f1 to continue and f2 to set up. i've anti maware and secunia to see if that helps. nope. i'm dell dimension c521 bought 2007 feb. is my computer dying, or is there hope to be had?:4-dontkno
severumgirl Windows XP Support 1 07-31-2011 11:21 AM
[SOLVED] HP DV9000 Laptop Instant Shutdown Battery Issue
Hello everyone, I'm new here and I am having some laptop issues and was hoping someone might be able to assist me with them. First I would like to list my computer specs: HP DV9543CL laptop Intel Core 2 Duo T7300 2GHZ 2x 160 GB SATA HDs 2 GB RAM Running: Windows 7 x64
Billy88 Laptop Support 6 05-19-2011 11:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts