Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Asus P5W DH Deluxe No POST

This is a discussion on Asus P5W DH Deluxe No POST within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I had 3x1GB ram sticks before, Single channel, 667Mhz but running at 333Mhz. All worked ok. I bought some new


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2011, 02:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
silico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit



I had 3x1GB ram sticks before, Single channel, 667Mhz but running at 333Mhz. All worked ok.

I bought some new Kingston 4gb (2x2gb) DDR2 800mhz Memory Non-ECC Cl5 from: Kingston 4gb (2x2gb) Ddr2 800mhz Memory Non-ECC Cl5 | Ebuyer.com

After reading the manual for the mobo, i set them up in both orange slots for dual channel. Then no POST at all, power,fans but no POST.

Swapped them into orange and black rails in first channel, runs fine, see's 4GB, but single channel and running at 333Mhz again???

Halp :/
silico is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2011, 02:07 PM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Try installing one stick at a time in each Mobo slot.
Brand & Model of the Mobo?



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 02:24 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
silico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Try installing one stick at a time in each Mobo slot.
Brand & Model of the Mobo?
Asus P5W DH Deluxe

...was in title

Works with one stick,works with both in different coloured slots, doesnt with two is same slot colours, seems to only affect dual channel mode?
silico is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2011, 02:26 PM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



My apologies!



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 02:28 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
silico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
My apologies!
Nah you are trying to halp, no worries!
silico is offline  
Old 09-23-2011, 06:42 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

just any old memory cant be wrecklessly (lack of better word) be thrown into a motherboard and expect to achieve dual channel which really is kind of a kudos

thats why memory manuf spent all that money to make and maintain memory configurator websites ; which test hundereds of mothereboards with numberous models of memory "guarantee" which modules can or achieve dual channel


now this leads to why I hate Kingston / no memory configurator


Mushkin / Gskill / Patriot / Crucial / Corsair (yep, corsair last! RMA is sl00000000W)


DONT BUY MEMORY STICKS UNTIL YOU HAVE VERIFIED THE MODEL YOU ARE ABOUT TO BUY IS COMPATIBLE WITH YOUR BOARD >>>> or you will be stick in single channel
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Powers On, No POST After Hard Drive Upgrades
I see a very similar problem in a following thread, but I didn't want to hijack it so I made a new topic. So I had a custom built machine (let's call it "custom") with the following specs: AMD Phenom x4 965 (stock fan) Corsair 650w PSU Antec 300 case 12GB ram GIGABYTE GA-MA790GPT-UD3H...
shadou Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 2 03-09-2011 01:47 AM
Asus P7P55D-E post failure and BSOD
Hi, I've completed my first new build recently and I'm having a few issues. i5 Core 760 2.8GHz Asus P7P55D-E 2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM 2 x SATA hard drives 1 x USB HDD 1 x DVD/RW
SmokinAces Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 36 01-18-2011 03:25 AM
Complex one(for the geeks out there!)! Wont Post, Will Post, Power?
Firstly Hello guys, well heres my problem, i built my partner a pc (she lives quite far from me) and so i posted it to her via mail service. on arrival it was having problems posting but it does occasionally post and work properly. thinking that something was damaged i built her another pc...
b33t Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 7 01-10-2011 03:13 PM
ASUS M4N75TD MoBo - No POST
I've just received an ASUS M4N75TD Motherboard for a new build however I'm not getting any POST beeps. Here's the full spec before I elaborate: ASUS M4N75TD Motherboard AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.0GHz 4GB (1x4GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz (I bought 1066MHz but the sticker on the RAM says 1333MHz)...
jamiepgs Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 7 01-01-2011 02:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts