Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Are any of these three ram kits compatible?

This is a discussion on Are any of these three ram kits compatible? within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have 3 different brands/types of ram, and I'm trying to find out if any of them are compatible with


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2017, 11:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



I have 3 different brands/types of ram, and I'm trying to find out if any of them are compatible with eachother. I don't entirely know how to tell if they would be compatible. So far I've gathered that the motherboard would likely adjust the MHz to the lower one, and not sure about voltages etc.

My motherboard is an Asus, and is this model: https://www.asus.com/uk/Motherboards/P8Z77V_LX2/


I have three kits of 8gb of ram, they are:

Kingston HyperX Genesis, 8gb kit, 1600MHz. Grey one : Kingston HyperX Genesis | Ebuyer.com

Ballistix Sport, 8gb kit, 1600MHz : Ballistix Sport 4GB DDR3-1600 UDIMM | BLS4G3D169DS3 | Crucial.com

Corsair Vengeance, 8gb kit, 1866MHz (9-10-9-27, 1.50v) : Vengeance® — 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 Memory Kit (CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9R)


I read somewhere that the Ballistix one can be clocked to 1866MHz, not totally sure on that, or if it would help.

I have tried the Kingston and Corsair together, they appeared to work initially and started causing some crashes later on I assume those do not work. I did not change anything in the bios for this test, and they were running at 1333MHz. And if it's any use, I have CPU-Z info from both of these.

Another thing I'd like to add is that I tried the Kingston set on its own. It was set to 1333MHz rather than 1866MHz. (Wasn't aware at the time that you had to change something in the bios to set it its 1866MHz) This set did appear to be causing some crashes when I tried it. Can I ask if those crashes could be related to it being run at 1333MHz, or can that ram run fine like that? It is possible that that set is damaged. I'm not bothered enough to run tests on them if that's the case, they are just a spare set. However, I'd still like to know if they would be compatible, just for curiosity reasons.

Would be happy if someone could give me some insight here. The Kingston HyperX is what I'm primarily using, if it comes to buying new ram, I know that one is now discontinued. If I wanted to find out if their newer HyperX range is compatible, what would I look for? Or is it just better to buy a 16gb kit and not bother with it?

I may have written quite a wall there, sorry if it's long.
thetable17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2017, 11:55 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Memory really shouldn't be mismatched, it typically ends in crashes and failures like you discovered. Out of the three, the Kingston and Crucial ones would be the ones I would test together.

All you need to know about RAM - Tech Support Forum
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 01-29-2017, 01:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for the welcome. I took a look at all that info about ram, it helped quite a bit. Still have some questions though.

If I try the Crucial and Corsair ram together, should I enable this X.M.P setting, since the Corsair stick runs at 1333MHz without it? And if so, would I be leaving everything there on default or auto settings? Any changing that would need to be done there is beyond what I know.

Second, I may test that Corsair set again to check if it is faulty. Would it running at 1333MHz rather than 1866MHz cause any of that? Doesn't sound like it would but that's not something I could find information on.

And third, what is at risk when I try this? If I don't mess with settings or only switch X.M.P on/off, is there risk to damaging the ram, or anything beyond that? And if so, how likely is it?
thetable17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2017, 02:15 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
OS: 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by thetable17 View Post
If I try the Crucial and Corsair ram together, should I enable this X.M.P
No. They must be matched pairs.

Combining unmatched pairs will cause system instability.
kauaisurf is offline  
Old 01-29-2017, 02:39 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Same comments as above. Mixing memory really shouldn't be done. They don't play nicely.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-14-2017, 01:43 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
OS: 8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Same comments as above. Mixing memory really shouldn't be done. They don't play nicely.
It can be done, but don't expect it to work in XMP or Daul/Quad channel mode.

If you're only concerned about massive amounts of ram, over speed and stability then go for it. You'd have to set the ram settings to the lowest of the bunch.
kauaisurf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop not recognizing second RAM slot?
I have a recently bought Toshiba C875 laptop, with Windows 8 64-Bit preinstalled on it. I recently bought extra RAM for this laptop, and although I installed it into the second RAM slot, the computer's "PC Info" will not display that it has any more RAM than the original amount. I know for a fact...
poof Laptop Support 1 01-14-2013 05:44 PM
Don't know If my Ram is compatible with mb
Hi, I just got a new motherboard to replace my burnt out one, but I'm not sure if the Ram I also bought is compatible. The motherboard is Asus m5a78l-m lx and the Ram is 1 stick of 4gb Corsair xms3 cmx4gx3m1a1333c9. I looked at the Ram compatibility chart and its not listed, even though the...
82DannyB RAM and Power Supply Support 5 12-30-2011 05:28 AM
My PC recognizes my HDD as a CD-ROM drive
Im an IT intern at a small organization. Weve upgrading the operating systems on several of the PCs. Im trying to do a clean install of Windows 7 from a thumb drives setup file on one particular PC. ( The PC only has a CD-ROM drive so I cant use the installation DVD. ) The other specs...
GuywithaPC Hard Drive Support 9 12-26-2011 09:20 AM
[SOLVED] Computer unbelievably slow, will more RAM fix it?
My computer is extremely, extremely slow, for example opening the Windows Calculator can take 30 or more seconds, so just imagine how slow doing actual work is. When I built the computer I intentionally built it with too little RAM to save money to upgrade it later which I still have never done....
aab1 RAM and Power Supply Support 24 07-01-2011 01:07 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts