Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

Acer Aspire 7552G-6851 Ram Upgrade

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire 7552G-6851 Ram Upgrade within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there! I have an Aspire 7552G-6851 laptop that is long past warranty, and I would like to get as


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2014, 11:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7



Hi there!

I have an Aspire 7552G-6851 laptop that is long past warranty, and I would like to get as much ram into it as possible.

I have found looking for compatible laptop ram is a difficult task.

It currently has 6GB DDR3, and I have no idea of the slot # or configuration, or where to look for upgrade ram.

I feel confident I can upgrade the ram in this machine, even if it means pulling the laptop apart. From what I can see, it is accessible through a panel on the bottom however.

If anyone can help me find a source for the highest amount of compatible ram, and enlighten me on the configuration that would be great! I am unsure as to how much ram this machine supports, and if/where I can buy that ram from.


Thanks

EDIT: Here is a scan result using the scan tool from crucial: Computer upgrades scan results for Acer Aspire Notebooks Aspire 7552 from Crucial

EDIT 2: This result says I have 2 banks, but that doesn't make sense to me because I have 6GB installed. Do they make 3GB sticks?
conv0luted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2014, 12:45 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7



I can't seem to edit my post again:

EDIT 3: Upon further inspection, by removing the bottom panel, I have found I indeed have 3 memory banks (good job, crucial scan tool /sarcasm) with 2GB in each.



The info on the modules is:

Hynix:

KN2GB0G016023AFDF8 2000 (not sure if some of these are O or 0)

2GB 2Rx8 PC3 - 10600S - 9 - 10 - F2

HMT125S6TFR8C - H9 N0 AA - C 1017
conv0luted is offline  
Old 12-29-2014, 01:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7



Link to currently installed module: https://www.amazon.ca/HYNIX-Laptop-Me...2GB+PC3+10600S
conv0luted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2014, 06:37 AM   #4
Visiting Tech
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,472
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


If you were starting with 4Gb or less, I would say go for it. But since you are starting with 6Gb already, I would leave it alone. 6Gb is already a lot. Adding more is not likely to provide any "noticeable" difference.

As far as suggestions, I would have suggested you run the Crucial RAM upgrade wizard - but you did that so if you really want to upgrade, it looks like you can install 4Gb x 2. But my advice is to save your money until your budget allows for a new computer since that model has been around for quite a few years.

Quote:
EDIT 2: This result says I have 2 banks, but that doesn't make sense to me because I have 6GB installed. Do they make 3GB sticks?
No, they don't make 3Gb sticks so you must have 2Gb x 1 + 4Gb x 1.

As far as the different information Crucial is giving, I think that may be do to your odd model number. I can find nothing about 6851 If you really do have 3 memory slots, then you need to verify the model number.

But again, 6Gb is already a lot.
Bill_Bright is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 5738z hd upgrade
Hi all, I have an Acer Aspire 5738z, motherboard s/n is Acer JV50 and would like to know if i can upgrade the hard drive and if so how far can i go ? Thanks,
Thom79 Laptop Support 2 11-25-2014 01:07 AM
No boot after RAM upgrade
I think this is a BIOS rather than RAM issue... (And I have searched various threads for a similar problem) I'm running a NEC Powermate ML7 H3003 (about Nov 2005 vintage) using XP Media center Edition (SP3) Athlon 64 3200+ It came with 2x samsung 512MB PC3200. I tried to upgrade with 4 x 1...
kao16 Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 9 09-27-2011 06:24 AM
Acer Aspire 5100 Laptop Black screen after upgrading to 4GB RAM
Hello. I have an Acer Aspire 5100 laptop with Windows XP Media Center Edition. This past weekend, I tried to upgrade to 4GB of RAM. After replacing the old RAM sticks with the new, I am getting nothing but a black screen after turning on my laptop. The mouse and keyboard I usually keep plugged in...
CMichael Laptop Support 2 08-02-2011 07:49 PM
Sony PCV-W600G Ram Upgrade
Hello, I am attempting to upgrade the ram in an older machine that my wife uses. The Sony PCV-W600G currently has 512mb of DDR Ram. Sony's tech specs says this machine is capable of 1gb of ram. I installed two Kingston (value) 512MB PC2700 333 DDR Ram modules and the computer would not boot to...
jethoncho RAM and Power Supply Support 1 01-28-2011 09:42 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts