Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

95% of 8GB ram was used with no programs using much of it!

This is a discussion on 95% of 8GB ram was used with no programs using much of it! within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This problem started yesterday. I suddenly noticed that my computer became very slow and worked like a snail. RAM is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2017, 11:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10


Exclamation

This problem started yesterday. I suddenly noticed that my computer became very slow and worked like a snail.

RAM is usually steady at 50% to 60% when I'm simply browsing with chrome, but suddenly it started using 90% or more, even if no program is up and in use.
It has now been a short while and it has calmed down to allow me to use chrome, but I don't understand what I see in task manager.

In one screenshot you can see the amount of RAM is used in MB. In another screenshot you can see the percentage of ram these values take. I have also added screenshots of Performance and Users from Task Manager. Are these values normal for 8GB RAM?

I simply want to solve my high Memory usage and will listen to what you have to say.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-01-30 20.04.52.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	140.1 KB
ID:	300305   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-01-30 20.04.29.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	138.5 KB
ID:	300313   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-01-30 20.10.18.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	125.7 KB
ID:	300321  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-01-30 20.09.45.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	144.6 KB
ID:	300329  
Where is my ram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2017, 12:52 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



This is how it currently looks if I don't have anything but the task manager up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-01-30 21.05.26.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	300353  
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 01-30-2017, 01:47 PM   #3
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Do you have more than 1 AV active?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2017, 01:57 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



I must admit that I'm not sure what you mean.
I forgot to mention that this is a laptop.
If my assumptions from a quick search is correct it has something to do with the HDMI input or monitor.
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 01-30-2017, 02:11 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



I forgot that this might be useful. My specs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-01-30 23.08.41.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	91.5 KB
ID:	300361  
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 01-30-2017, 02:15 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I was asking if you've deactivated Windows Defender if you've installed another Anti Virus.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-30-2017, 03:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



Could that be it? I use AVG free and have not used Windows Defender at all as far as I can remember. However it does say a search was done 7/24/2016 that I have no memory of. It says it's on and up to date. Last update was 1st of January. I know you should not have two antivirus software active at the same time, but I guess I overlooked Defender. What do you recommend I do?
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 01-30-2017, 04:45 PM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Disable Defender.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-30-2017, 10:52 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,619
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



The cause of the high memory usage is the non paged pool. At 6 GB it is many times what a reasonable value would be. Typically it would be less than the paged pool. Usually this is caused by a driver issue. Unfortunately this can be difficult to diagnose. Malware could also do this. The results of having more than one active AV product are unpredictable, but often unpleasant.
LMiller7 is offline  
Old 01-31-2017, 06:19 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



I think I know the problem now. I had not seed Windows Defender when I had clicked "show hidden icons" button before. I would like to say that the date i mentioned for the Windows Defender update was wrong. It was the 30th of January. I started having problems on sunday just past midnight, so this matches.
I think that Windows Defender somehow reactivated even though I have AVG.(I read that windows defender almost always deactivates if you install a third party antivirus program)

I will attempt to deactivate it, but I would also note that I uninstalled AVG before Windows Defender was mentioned, because it took a good portion of memory. At the time I did not bother removing AVG Zen, but I think I will do that temporarily if I see no changes.

I would also like to ask about the USER screenshot in my first post. It says 320.7 MB of memory is being used while the PERFORMANCE screenshot hints at 7.3 GB of memory being used. Is this simply me misunderstanding things?(I apologize for not making Task Manager bigger)

I will get back to you after deactivation.
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 01-31-2017, 06:44 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10


Confused

I now have no Antivirus program active and I have restarted my PC to see if there was any change. There is none. It still hogs 92% with only this one folder in Chrome.
I don't understand the contradictory percents here in memory. I see the normal percent I'm used to being used, but there are a 36% gap between the two values.

Thanks for all help so far.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-01-31 15.40.52.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	300425  
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 01-31-2017, 11:41 AM   #12
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I would stick with Windows Defender and get rid of AVG. Run Windows built in Memory Test or: MemTest86 - Offical Site of the x86 Memory Testing Tool just to be sure all sticks are working.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-31-2017, 12:11 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10


Arrow

It still has an an abnormally low amount of memory available, but I will try the MemTest later. I don't have a USB at hand at the moment and I'm busy with work through the rest of the week. I will try to remember to return here afterwards. Until then I won't respond.
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 07:36 AM   #14
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
RAM is usually steady at 50% to 60% when I'm simply browsing with chrome
Even that is high.

As LMiller7 noted, the clue is in your non-paged pool. That typically is a few 100MB.

Sadly, none of your screen shots help because they too only show a few 100MBs. You need to sort on those Memory columns to make sure the biggest consumers are up top.

Since all 8GB of your RAM is being recognized, I see no reason to run a memtester. It won't hurt, but we can see all the RAM is there.

FTR, when you install a 3rd party security program, Windows Defender "should" and typically does disable itself. I agree to just use Windows Defender. While AVG is a capable security program, it has been known to hog resources for many. I use Windows Defender on all my systems, then Malwarebytes as a supplemental scanner just to make sure WD (or me) didn't let something slip by. Since I started using WD (actually MSE with W7), Malwarebytes has never found anything.

I don't see where you rebooted. This could be a simple issue of a hung process that could be fixed by a simple reboot. At the very least, you need to reboot and immediately see how much RAM is being consumed.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 02:22 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10



I can't start up task manager fast enough to see how much memory is being used. The whole computer startup is slower in fact. Even before I get to type in my password. I have a habit of turning off my computer at the end of the day, so I have rebooted it often since I started having problems.
When I look at my screenshots of Processes in Task Manager, I can see that the memory column is sorted from biggest to smallest memory users. Was that what you were asking or am I misunderstanding something?

And thank you all for taking your time with this.

As far as I understand I need to find out what unlisted/non-paged processes that hogs my memory.
I don't know exactly where to go from here, but I'll be looking into "non-paged pool" to get a better understanding of what I'm working with.
Where is my ram is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 02:52 PM   #16
Visiting Tech
 
Bill_Bright's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,468
OS: Win10 64-bit Professional

My System


Quote:
I can see that the memory column is sorted from biggest to smallest memory users. Was that what you were asking or am I misunderstanding something?
Yes, that is what I meant but if you notice, the biggest consumer is using just 68MB - you are not showing anything that would eat up the 6GB.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
Windows and Devices for IT, 2007 - 2018

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

───────────────────────────
Bill_Bright is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 03:05 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 10


Laugh

I have now found a SOLUTION.
At least a temporary one.

I followed this video, but I will admit that it looks too simple for it to be the root of the problem.

"Fix "huge memory leak" in Windows 10 and 8 [ Non-paged pool using high memory ]"

At the part where he changes a value from 2 to 4, I had to change it from a 1 to 4.

In the screenshot you will see how Performance looks in Task Manager right now.


If any of you believe that these values should not have been changed then please tell me.

Other than that I would like to thank you all for putting up with me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-02-02 00.00.21.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	90.7 KB
ID:	300529  
Where is my ram is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS can't start with new RAM?
Hi all, Before all, i want to say that my English is not great, i hope that you will understand me. This is my PC configuration: Motherboard: biostar n61pb-m2s Processor: AMD Sempron 2GHz GPU: NVidia GeForce 6150 RAM: 2slots, 2GB,
DocNet RAM and Power Supply Support 4 07-15-2013 02:39 AM
8GB RAM (2.72 GB usable).
System: Manufacturer : Apple Model : 13" MacBook Pro (2009) Rating : 4.4 Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P7550 @ 2.26GHz
Deanzy Mac Support 2 04-13-2012 06:52 AM
[SOLVED] 4GB of RAM vs 8GB
OK, I built my own rig 3 years ago. I have a decent graphics card, nice Gigabyte MB a 955 Blk Ed. AMD CPU, 2 HDDs and 4GB of gaming RAM. Thing is, would I see much if any increase in speed if I bought two new sticks of RAM totaling 8GB? I do some gaming still but not nearly as much as before....
The Noodle RAM and Power Supply Support 8 03-20-2012 10:19 AM
[SOLVED] RAM upgrade causes failure to boot with ANY RAM
RAM Failure, Lost Cause? Computer: Dell E521 AMD Athlon 64 Nvidia GeForce 6150LE with ATI Radeon 256MB Video card upgrade. Was running Vista with 1GB ram (2x512MB DDR2) and decided to upgrade to 2GB. Got Kingston 2x1GB DDR2-800 after consulting with Crucial. Tried to upgrade and would not...
aweather RAM and Power Supply Support 12 05-23-2011 12:05 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts