Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

4870X2 w/ i7 Core Concerns

This is a discussion on 4870X2 w/ i7 Core Concerns within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, My system is as follows: -Intel i7 Core 920 (Planning on OC'ing to 3.00GHz) -750W Corsair PSU -3GB RAM


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2008, 07:26 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
OS:



Hello,

My system is as follows:

-Intel i7 Core 920 (Planning on OC'ing to 3.00GHz)
-750W Corsair PSU
-3GB RAM DDR3
-ASUS P6T Deluxe
-(2) 500GB HD
-9800GX2 eVGA
-ACER p223w 1680x1050 monitor

I want to upgrade my video card to a 4870X2 Sapphire. However, I'm concerned that my current PSU will not be able to support a 4870X2. Can anyone help me?
GoldRenamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2008, 07:34 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,486
OS: Win7 x64, Raspibian, OSX Yosemite x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

I would more prefer an 850 for a 4870x2. 1000 up if you're going to quadfire.
magnethead is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:46 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by magnethead View Post
I would more prefer an 850 for a 4870x2. 1000 up if you're going to quadfire.
So does that mean I'm not going to be able to run or play games on my computer if I place a 4870x2 in it with my 750W?
GoldRenamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2008, 08:02 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
OS:



i messed it up, my bad disregard me
Goundnutz753 is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 08:03 PM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i doubt it would run for long before you lost the psu and possibly a few components along with it



dai is offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 08:26 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



If this were my personal computer, I would not run those two cards unless you move up to an 850. Just too risky to run that rig underpowered unless you want to continually replace things that have a propensity to fail with lack of power. That is my opinion.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts