Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > RAM and Power Supply Support

User Tag List

1066 RAM only clocking at 800

This is a discussion on 1066 RAM only clocking at 800 within the RAM and Power Supply Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, I have OCZ Gold DDR2 PC8200 1066 RAM with ASUS P5Q-E, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 and it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2009, 09:11 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
OS:


Question

Hi all,

I have OCZ Gold DDR2 PC8200 1066 RAM with ASUS P5Q-E, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 and it is only clocking at 800.

Both my motherboard and CPU both support 1066MHZ RAM.

My CPU runs at 28-30c whilst installing windows, booting and installing drivers have not tested it with games yet. I understand this is a really good temp for a Core 2 Quad with stock cooler.

Please help.

All the best.

SupaTed
Supated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-09-2009, 09:45 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



How much RAM is installed? Where are you getting the 800 clock info?
Use CPU-Z and post the screen shot of the Memory tab. It should show about 533MHz



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 01:31 PM   #3
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


there should be a setting to change it to 1066 in the BIOS all of the last Asus boards I have used and the one I currecnlt have are set to a default of 667 - 800MHz but can take upto 1066MHz before using overclocked ram.

It will probably be in the DRAM frequency section in the BIOS
greenbrucelee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-09-2009, 01:52 PM   #4
Troubled
 
Phædrus241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 4,862
OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


I have that kit, and it runs at 800MHz default. You have to "overclock" it to to 1066MHz. But since it's rated at 1066MHz, you're just bringing it up to its rated clock since it's shipped underclocked.
Phædrus241 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts