Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

User Tag List

Req assist w/unknown device in dev mgr

This is a discussion on Req assist w/unknown device in dev mgr within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am a L1 Help Desk Analyst with 25 years experience. I have tried researching my situation but cannot

Old 03-31-2020, 08:13 PM   #1
Registered Member

Confused

Hello,

I am a L1 Help Desk Analyst with 25 years experience. I have tried researching my situation but cannot find any results exactly matching my specifics. I have an unknown device in my DevMgr in Win10 64 bit. Here's the specifics.

Anomaly 1 - just did a HD to SSD upgrade seemingly 100% successfully. The SSD is a 1TB Samsung 860 EVO. I cloned my original HD with Acronis True Image perfectly. I installed the drive perfectly and Win10 has perfectly identified it in the DM.

Laptop is an HP Pavilion DV7 6b32US that is 64 bit and is Win10 and has 2 internal drives. The OS drive was just swapped out to be an SSD (details below) and the data drive is a mech drive of 1TB with no issues. 16GB RAM and the CPU is an Intel Core i7 running at 2.4 ghz with quad cores.

Anomaly 2 - I am on the Windows Insider Beta Preview on the fast ring. I have had no problems to date.

After completing the install I checked the DM to verify the drive was properly recognized and it shows up properly. This is when I discovered there is an "other device"/"Unknown Device" in the DM. The info on the details tab of the properties shows:
ACPI\HPQ6001\2&DABA3FF&3