Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Design Discussion & FAQs

User Tag List

[SOLVED] too big file?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] too big file? within the Design Discussion & FAQs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey...im trying to upload arround 3mb website. webhost allow 5mb webbsites. after uploading i get message that file i uploading


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2009, 10:24 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 808
OS: Win 7



hey...im trying to upload arround 3mb website. webhost allow 5mb webbsites. after uploading i get message that file i uploading is too big oO
slayerdeath555 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2009, 05:43 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Contact the webhost. They will advise you on how to make your file smaller.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 06:21 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 808
OS: Win 7



its alerady small 3mb/5...
slayerdeath555 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2009, 06:33 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


If the 3mb file is compressed as a zip or rar, it will expand in size when they open it.

Have you had a reply from the webhost yet? They're the best people to ask, as you haven't given us all the details.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 07:40 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 808
OS: Win 7



yes it is compressed i didnt know that it mage bigger place...but what can i do? i have images too
slayerdeath555 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 08:47 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


What size is it uncompressed?

You should be able to reduce the filesizes of the images as they are probably the largest files on your site. You can use your image editor and resave the jpg images at 60% compression without losing any quality.

Or you can upload them to this site and they will do the work for you.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 08:49 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 808
OS: Win 7



Software error:
Can't call method "value" on an undefined value at /home/sitereport/sitereportcard.com/cgi-bin/im.pl line 13.

when i upload image to website
slayerdeath555 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 09:00 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


I got the same error, even with scripts enabled. Must be a problem at their end.

Try this site instead. I uploaded a 45kb jpg and reduced it to 60% with no loss in quality. New size - 30kb.

What size is your site uncompressed?
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 12:31 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 808
OS: Win 7



Ok ty i uploaded webite now (im waiting for co.cc domain now).

but how can websites like for games wich has much more than 5mb be uploaded?
slayerdeath555 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 12:33 PM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System


Use another host that allows over 5mb.
__________________

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 12:46 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 808
OS: Win 7



aha tx for anwser and sloving problem :)
slayerdeath555 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts