Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Design Discussion & FAQs

User Tag List

Multiple Design questions - Header, ad placement, navigation bar etc

This is a discussion on Multiple Design questions - Header, ad placement, navigation bar etc within the Design Discussion & FAQs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have lots of question and I'm not asking anyone to answer everything for me. But the thing is I

Closed Thread

Old 07-26-2013, 02:55 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have lots of question and I'm not asking anyone to answer everything for me. But the thing is I am new to this and I'm stuck. I'm looking for advices from more experienced web designers that can put me on the right path. I have searched but they either didn't answer my questions well enough or I feel like I need to confirm/clarify some points.

Questions:
1 - My site is pretty small. About, FAQ, Contact, Policy/Terms, Advertise are pretty much standard but what should go where? I'm very confused because I see some sites put those in footer, some near the header, some both, some include everything in a single page. I've seen sites where they put a few pages above the logo, and the rest in a navigation bar below, then there are other who just puts everything in the bar. How do I know which apporach suits my site, are there guidelines?

2 - Most sites gave advices that you shouldn't open new browser windows. However 9gag does it by opening a new tab every time you choose to view an individual post. It's a pretty popular site so what are the pros of doing so since most sites advice against this practise?