Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Design Discussion & FAQs

User Tag List

Learning CSS&html...

This is a discussion on Learning CSS&html... within the Design Discussion & FAQs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello guys, I decided to start learning CSS and HTML (and later java) and I was wondering what would be

Closed Thread

Old 06-28-2011, 08:00 PM   #1
Registered Member

My System

Send a message via MSN to yhayatli

Hello guys,

I decided to start learning CSS and HTML (and later java) and I was wondering what would be better: through a book or a website?

I am very new to all of this and not sure what to use... I tried the W3 schools and although they're adequate sometimes, most of the times they're not.

So any suggestions? any books/websites?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-30-2011, 10:11 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus

My System

my advice... just jump in.

See if you can find a free host and get a page online.

Just PLAY.

As for the basics, i would probably go with online... Its free and easy to work with.

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Old 07-01-2011, 04:22 PM   #3
Registered Member

What Laxer suggests, how ever for HTML you don't need a webserver or anything. And if you need I would recommend to install XAMPP (local webserver easy to install and use).

And why would you want to learn Java (I assume you mean Javascript?). I would rather recommend you to learn PHP and MySQL.

Make a plan, put something on paper and try to create it. When you get stucked, just Google it or try a forum. When you try a forum, people will share their knowledge and experience thats much more then W3schools has to offer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2011, 09:44 AM   #4
Registered Member

Hard to learn by your self and on your own. Got someone who you know who codes? Learning from a friend or someone experienced is the best way.
Old 07-12-2011, 07:04 AM   #5