Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Design Discussion & FAQs

User Tag List

help with importing video to flash cs3

This is a discussion on help with importing video to flash cs3 within the Design Discussion & FAQs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. when i import my video onto flash, my video is not there and it just shows the player. when i


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2008, 12:39 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



when i import my video onto flash, my video is not there and it just shows the player. when i test the movie, i hear the music and sounds, but i still don't see it. what's wrong with it?
nanan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2008, 03:36 PM   #2
Moderator, Design Team
 
zuluclayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 12,727
OS: Windows Seven Home Premium

My System


Can you play the video on any other player on your computer?
What was your source for the video? What file type is the video you are trying to import? You may find it is a codec issue if you can hear and not see it. You could try downloading and installing the K-Lite codec pack (link in my signature). With it comes G-Spot - if you open G-Spot and use it to analyse your video it will tell you whether you have the appropriate codec on your computer.
__________________

[CENTER]Audacity
Irfan View GSpot


zuluclayman is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:46 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



yeah i can play the video on windows media player. the format is AVI. i saved it into my flash proj folder.

when i made the same project at school, i was using flash 8 and it worked fine. i imported my video and it all came out fine. when i tried to re-create it when i got home, i was usuing flash cs3, i just didn't work out.
nanan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2008, 03:49 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
jamiemac2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 2,276
OS: Win7, Ubuntu.



Hey, does the video show up on the stage? or in the layers panel?

Cheers,
Jamey
__________________

Please help me to help you by addressing and answering ALL the questions I ask in my posts.
(I usually go about a post by mentally debugging the issue, and each answer will provide deeper insight into the nature of the problem)
(Also don't worry if you don't know the answer, post back asking for clarification or help)
jamiemac2005 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 04:20 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
dm01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Richmond, B.C.; Canada
Posts: 2,356
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


You can try saving the Flash 8 project, and importing that into your Flash CS3. Generally, compatibility from older to newer versions is much better than compatibility between formats.
dm01 is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 07:12 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiemac2005 View Post
Hey, does the video show up on the stage? or in the layers panel?

Cheers,
Jamey
it shows on the stage and the library, but it's only the player that shows.
nanan is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:36 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
jamiemac2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 2,276
OS: Win7, Ubuntu.



The player? how was it you imported the video? Sorry i haven't used CS3 a whole lot(i don't have the money lol).

In Flash 8 theres an option to either import the video to the stage or to import it as a dynamic object. If you do the second you have to script how the movie plays.

If it shows on the stage it should show over a number of frames.

Cheers,
Jamey
__________________

Please help me to help you by addressing and answering ALL the questions I ask in my posts.
(I usually go about a post by mentally debugging the issue, and each answer will provide deeper insight into the nature of the problem)
(Also don't worry if you don't know the answer, post back asking for clarification or help)
jamiemac2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts