Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Simple Apache 2 setup

This is a discussion on Simple Apache 2 setup within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Howdy, I am a high school teacher and I'm trying to allow my students to "ftp" onto our local(in house)

Closed Thread

Old 02-16-2014, 05:57 PM   #1
Registered Member

Howdy,

I am a high school teacher and I'm trying to allow my students to "ftp" onto our local(in house) Apache2 web server on Ubuntu 10.10. I know the local ip address. It is: 10.127.1.58 My students have folders inside it such as: 10.127.1.58/bob.wills We have been using a "usb memory stick" to transfer their files on to it so they can view their work from Firefox or IE. I have the students login as users and they are directed to their appropriate web folder on the server to copy their work from the "usb stick", so I know my permissions are correct. I also have a cgi-bin installed at: /usr/lib/cgi-bin and it works perfectly as we have been running forms I put there for them.

The problem: They cannot "ftp" into their folder!!! The error log tell me nothing as they just can't get through. I have read and read about all I can find, but I don't really know how to set the Apache2 server up to accept them using "ftp" tools. I'd like to do this as the "usb stick" method is soooo slow! Does anyone have a sample of setting and configs I can use? What am I missing? It is a synaptic Apache2 basic install with perl and php.

Thanks bunches!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-16-2014, 08:50 PM   #2
- Design Team
- Networking Team

My System

I'm not sure what process you're describing by "I have the students login as users and they are directed to their appropriate web folder on the server to copy their work from the "usb stick", so I know my permissions are correct."