Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Server location matters in ping

This is a discussion on Server location matters in ping within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, i want to buy a server for 1 year. I want to upload a blog there. I live in


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2014, 06:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
xmarkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 188
OS: Windows 7 Professional & Backtrack 5 R3

My System


Hello, i want to buy a server for 1 year. I want to upload a blog there. I live in Greece and visitors are all over the world. Greece, America mostly. Um, should i buy a server which is located in Greece or its better in America like godaddy? Um, if I buy a server located here in greece would visitors in America have high ping? thanks
xmarkx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2014, 12:05 AM   #2
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


Are you intending to actually physically purchase and host a server yourself, or do you mean you want to purchase dedicated access to a machine hosted by another company? (Or VPS, which is a virtual server tending to cost far less while providing most of the benefit of a dedicated server).

As for ping times, those can vary a great deal depending on the answer to the above (and more).
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 04-24-2014, 06:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
xmarkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 188
OS: Windows 7 Professional & Backtrack 5 R3

My System


Let be say it again with other words sorry. I have a blog in wordpress.com which is restricted in many ways. I cant edit many things i want. So I want to buy for 1 year a server and a domain name to upload a new wordpress there and sync my posts. I am not gonna spend more than 100$ :P

I care about ping caz last year when i bought from godaddy my webpage were loading a bit slow...is there anything you want to know..?

PS. I my blog is https://greekorio.wordpress.com/ take a look of what I want to do.
xmarkx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2014, 03:53 PM   #4
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


If you're looking to spend no more than $100 a year, you're going to be looking at a shared hosting solution. Most services that aren't shared start around that price per month, not per year.

For good global ping times, any hosting company that connects their equipment to major backbone providers will have relatively similar access times. There will be times that you have technical issues with any host, and shared hosts are by far more commonly plagued by technical issues. That's one of the drawbacks to cheap hosting services.

There are lots of budget hosts out there that provide decent service.

Dreamhost, Blue Hosting, Host Monster, etc. You'll have people who love any given one, and people who hate them. That's sort of how it goes with shared hosting. You tend to have really good experiences or really bad experiences.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 05-05-2014, 10:21 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
OS: win7



buy a shared hosting from one of above Fjandr mentioned, and connect your NS via cloudflare binding. this will help ur visitors to get low ping and loads faster
fat babes is offline  
Old 05-05-2014, 10:25 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
xmarkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 188
OS: Windows 7 Professional & Backtrack 5 R3

My System


Thank you for your suggestions. I found another low cost in my country so I bought here for 3 months. I am quite happy with that. It is good. If you live far away from Greece please go to GreekOrio.com and give me some feedback of your ping. If ti loads fast or low...

thank you :)
xmarkx is offline  
Old 05-06-2014, 03:34 AM   #7
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


Load times are perfectly acceptable from the West Coast of the USA.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD 0x0000007e PLZ HELP ME :(
Hey guys, I'm new to this forum hoping you could help me out with my BSOD problem. Here's the problem : The Bsod occured a few months ago and i've been running in safe mode ever since ( Witch is possible without any problems ). If i try and start it in normal mode, it gives me a system...
Rowbance BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 13 01-09-2013 07:35 PM
Ping failure preferred DNS server
HI I am a layman at pcs. However router maintainence diagnostics show Ping failure to preferred DNS server. I am suffering badly with dropouts and connectivity. Been in touch with server who has not helped much except to say there was a problem at exchange. Anyawy I cant help feel this ping...
Derek mott Windows XP Support 10 12-24-2012 03:07 PM
Dell PowerEdge Server crawling like a snail
Hi everyone! I seem to be having a problem with the Dell PowerEdge Server at my work, it's running Windows Server 2003 for Small Business and is crawling at a snails pace. So much so I've been waiting 20+ minutes for it to apply settings for me to even log in to the server. I know a big part of...
JacobRyan Windows Servers 12 12-12-2012 02:56 PM
Internet Explorer Loads & Uses Tons of Memory
Internet Explorer runs on it's own--in the background--and uses tons of memory. This is similar to a problem that a user named MalusCalibur had back in 2008. IE loads up and runs from 30K and climbs to anywhere from 100-300K of Memory. I've quelled this problem by constantly having Windows...
Deeke777 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 35 06-26-2012 01:11 PM
[SOLVED] can ping from server but can't ping to
I installed window server 2003 in a old Pentium III server as a standalone test server. Now I want to use it as a print server and connected it to the domain. I can ping workstations and other servers from that test svr. But i cannot ping that test server from the work stations.
outsidethewall Networking Support 2 01-26-2012 07:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts