Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Self Hosting

This is a discussion on Self Hosting within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Here is the info on hosting your own website: Google Secure WAMP. It show up on top. It is from


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-05-2013, 12:49 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



Here is the info on hosting your own website:

Google Secure WAMP. It show up on top. It is from Berlin. It is a simple download and does all the setup for you and it works!

If you want a domain name then Google that and sign up with one of the services that give you that. You will probably have to pay for it.

That's all it takes!
BrentC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2013, 11:54 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Did you really just copypaste this post and make a new thread about it?
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 05:11 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



No I did not copy/paste. I just wanted to start a new thread about WAMP save people having to read through all the posts on my previous thread re Apache.
BrentC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2013, 05:52 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Probably a better idea to give the link you're referring to than tell people to google it . . ,
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 06:52 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



You're right, I should have provided the link.

And now I cannot find it but right now I do not have access to the pc I downloaded it on. I will try to find it.

Sorry guys.
BrentC is offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 11:08 PM   #6
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


https://securewamp.org
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 11:27 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Have you tested the software? Does it work as well as it says it does?
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 11:55 PM   #8
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


I was simply providing the missing link. I've never used that particular package, as I do all my hosting on Linux aside from a couple quick-and-dirty temporary installations on Windows.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 03-08-2013, 03:26 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



I downloaded SecureWAMP - Download on another computer. I'm pretty sure I still have a rootkit on it. The installation doesn't work. Maybe I have to tweek the config file?

The one from securewamp.org didn't install correctly. It is missing files.
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-09-2013, 12:53 AM   #10
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


It's something wrong with your connection or your machine then.

I just downloaded each, and they have identical checksums.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 03-10-2013, 12:13 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



One install showed this error: NET HELPMSG 2185

I re-downloaded from securewamp.org and when I try to install Apache/PHP I get error saying maybe I was not logged in as administrator. I think I entered the admin password.
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-10-2013, 09:08 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



I got WAMP installed and running. But I get an error that the function

mysql_connect_errno() is undefined. It's got to be defined somewhere....where?
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-10-2013, 09:37 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



NOTICE:

Some of W3Schools Online Web Tutorials's MySQL examples have errors. Here are some:

mysql_connect_errno() should be mysql_errno()

mysql_connect_error() should be mysql_error()

mysql_query($con,$sql) should be mysql_query($sql,$con)...this one just gives a warning but the parameters are transposed. I hope it still works for me...I am working on this as I type.
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-10-2013, 09:40 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



MySQL function reference can be found at PHP MySQL Functions
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-11-2013, 05:58 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



Now I get this error: Error creating database: Access denied for user ''@'localhost' to database 'books'

PHP Code:
<?php

$con
=mysql_connect("localhost","","""");


// Check connection
if (mysql_errno())
  {
  echo 
"Failed to connect to MySQL: " mysql_error();
  }

// Create database
$sql="CREATE DATABASE books";

if (
mysql_query($sql,$con))
  {
  echo 
"Database books created successfully";
  }
else
  {
  echo 
"Error creating database: " mysql_error();
  }
?>
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-12-2013, 06:49 PM   #16
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6,492
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

You need to supply a username and password so that you have something to log in with. Then you should be able to create a database.

Alternatively, you can just log into mysql and create a database.
__________________


Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 03-12-2013, 08:26 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



I think I may have entered the password wrong when I installed the wamp. I have tried to re-download it and set the password again, but I get an error when I try to do that. I think I still have a rootkit virus which is getting in the way or it could be norton security which I am working on in another thread.

How do I log into mysql as you mentioned?
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-13-2013, 12:16 AM   #18
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


You have to create a mysql user in order to connect to the mysql server.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 03-13-2013, 12:36 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
BrentC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,117
OS: Vista Home Premium



I got WAMP reinstalled but when I click on install for Apache/PHP I get an error. Virus?

Also, I read that when mysql is first installed it comes with the root user which has all priviliges and no password...but of course one should assign a password to that account.
BrentC is offline  
Old 03-13-2013, 06:45 PM   #20
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6,492
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

You don't have a virus. I would like to know what the error is that you are getting. Normally you get errors when you reinstall programs like mysql.
__________________


Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts