Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Publishing a Website - Sub Domain

This is a discussion on Publishing a Website - Sub Domain within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all I am not really sure if I am posting this question at the right place or not. Please


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2014, 10:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
OS: windows server 2008 r2 standard


Suprised

Hi all

I am not really sure if I am posting this question at the right place or not. Please help me out with the information you guys have.

I need to publish a Sharepoint site on to the internet. For which I have decided on an URL, like svc-pkc-cet.in. And we already have our main domain hosted by a third party, hence asked for a sub domain in order to publish this site. svc-pkc-cet.in is the new sub domain.

The whole logic I was aware was to have a public IP reserved for the Web Server where the Sharepoint site is developed and point that IP to the new domain. (never implemented personally though). So, when contacted the guy who host the main domain and website. I was asked for the NAMESERVERS. What does that actually means?? I am not really sure if I have explained in details. Please can someone provide ne with an answer... If any more details are required to help with an answer, I can try giving more info. Thanks in advance.

Awaiting your valuable details

Regards
shekargbabu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2014, 08:42 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,603
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



A subdomain is a domain that is part of a larger domain. For example, east.sample.com and west.sample.com are both subdomains of the sample.com domain.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:55 AM   #3
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


The nameservers are servers used by your web host to tell everyone else in the world how to get from the text "mydomain.com" to the public IP of the server from which you are hosting the content.

You need to contact your web host in order to modify the nameservers for your domain so that they point people connecting to "subdomain.yourdomain.com" toward the machine IPs of your Sharepoint site.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some help with start up issue then crash
Hi I got what I think is a minor problem but i dont know how to fix it. I just cleared out some malware (with some good advice from another forum that focus on malware), did some system maintenance and while I was updating the drivers seem to have disturbed the operating system. There is no...
simon255 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 2 04-03-2013 04:44 PM
How do i disable intel's graphics?
I know that my PC comes with something similiar to a graphics card, it is even wired into my windows 8 settings all by itself. I am having a tech problem, and i believe the display card is the main problem as everything else seems to check, how can i disable it and go back to the display card-less...
aayushagra Video Card Support 37 03-25-2013 09:29 AM
How do i view swf domain lock content outside the domain without decompiling it?
What people suggest Some other tech forum's forumers have suggests: opening it with a swf decompiler and search for a domain checker, then remove the domain checking's section of the actionscript. What i want Isn't there any software that can open the swf file (that checks the website it runs...
ryanawe123 Programming 3 02-08-2013 07:33 AM
Forward a Domain to Serv U domain help
I recently set up a Serv U domain, as well as a static IP address to go with it. Everything works fine when i create a network connection and then connect to my serveftp.com domain. What im trying to do is take the existing domain I have and just forward it to this site, So that i can go on any...
cowboy370 Networking Support 4 02-17-2011 09:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts