Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Please help with installing certs on Apache/Tomcat

This is a discussion on Please help with installing certs on Apache/Tomcat within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all! I'm a programmer of many years but have been forced to complete wildcard certificates on several Tomcat servers.

Closed Thread

Old 10-09-2018, 11:54 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello all!

I'm a programmer of many years but have been forced to complete wildcard certificates on several Tomcat servers. The end goal being that a PowerShell script will auto-install these certificates on servers without any user intervention. I have the PowerShell kung-fu necessary to get the job done but I'm having real issues getting the certificates to install when doing my testing manually.
I think the problem lies in the certs that I was given to install, but I'm no expert. I keep getting errors.

The certs I was handed to convert/install/use are:
1) ourDomain.cer
2) ourDomain.p7b
3) ourDomain.pfx
4) ourDomain.csr
5) ourDomainIntermediate.cer
6) ourDomainRoot.cer

Again, all these are wildcard certs... e.g. *.mydomain.org

What's the proper way of importing all these certs into Apache/Tomcat? I need instructions using keytool and/or openssl programs. No clicking/dragging/user-intervention please.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2018, 10:10 PM   #2
Registered Member

First you will need to create a keystore & then use the command:

Code:
$JAVA_HOME/bin/keytool -certreq -keylag RSA -alias -file.csr -keystroke [path/to/your/keystore]
to generate the CSR. The CSR is what your Certificate Authority (CA) will use to create the SSL certificate. A file yourcertificatename.csr will be created.

To import the Root Certificate use the following commands:

Code:
keytool -import -alias root -keystore [path/to/your/keystore] -trustcacerts -file [path/to/the/root_certificate