Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Please help with installing certs on Apache/Tomcat

This is a discussion on Please help with installing certs on Apache/Tomcat within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all! I'm a programmer of many years but have been forced to complete wildcard certificates on several Tomcat servers.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2018, 11:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
OS:



Hello all!

I'm a programmer of many years but have been forced to complete wildcard certificates on several Tomcat servers. The end goal being that a PowerShell script will auto-install these certificates on servers without any user intervention. I have the PowerShell kung-fu necessary to get the job done but I'm having real issues getting the certificates to install when doing my testing manually.
I think the problem lies in the certs that I was given to install, but I'm no expert. I keep getting errors.

The certs I was handed to convert/install/use are:
1) ourDomain.cer
2) ourDomain.p7b
3) ourDomain.pfx
4) ourDomain.csr
5) ourDomainIntermediate.cer
6) ourDomainRoot.cer

Again, all these are wildcard certs... e.g. *.mydomain.org

What's the proper way of importing all these certs into Apache/Tomcat? I need instructions using keytool and/or openssl programs. No clicking/dragging/user-intervention please.
daniel.warner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2018, 10:10 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 11
OS:



First you will need to create a keystore & then use the command:

Code:
$JAVA_HOME/bin/keytool -certreq -keylag RSA -alias -file.csr -keystroke [path/to/your/keystore]
to generate the CSR. The CSR is what your Certificate Authority (CA) will use to create the SSL certificate. A file yourcertificatename.csr will be created.

To import the Root Certificate use the following commands:

Code:
keytool -import -alias root -keystore [path/to/your/keystore] -trustcacerts -file [path/to/the/root_certificate
Code:
$keytool-import -alias [youralias] -keystore [path/to/your/keystore] -file [path/to/your_keystore]
Take a look at this tutorial which goes through the steps of how to configure SSL/TLS for Apache Tomcat:

+ https://hostadvice.com/how-to/how-to-configure-https-in-apache-tomcat/
scriptbox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootloader/MBR got deleted or corrupt. Help needed in Installing Win7.
I know too little about computers, maybe thats why I am going through this tragedy https://www.cnet.com/i/mb/emoticons/happy.gif ... Need urgent help ! I have a Sony VAIO laptop (Model: VPCEB32EN) which had Windows 7 installed. Recently I installed UBUNTU (alongside Win 7) so that I could heal...
amitsharmaq159c Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 02-04-2015 09:24 AM
Problems installing a new video card
Hello! I bought a 780 Ti (ASUS Matrix Platinum) and it finally arrived today (upgrading from a HD 6950 2GB). Rest of my specs are: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H, i7 3770, XFX 650W XXX Edition, Corsair Dominator 8GB (2x4) RAM. So, I uninstalled the old graphic card drivers, took the card out and popped...
neko_ceko Video Card Support 7 08-13-2014 01:47 PM
[SOLVED] Steam keeps installing vcredist and DirectX
Hi, I don't know what the purpose is, but Steam have kept installing the same versions of vcredist and DirectX over and over again for a year now. I started to get fed up with it, and one day had to make a clean install of Windows 7 for other reasons. I decided to experiment and downloaded /all/...
FreddeN93 PC Gaming Support 6 01-22-2014 09:28 AM
How do i disable intel's graphics?
I know that my PC comes with something similiar to a graphics card, it is even wired into my windows 8 settings all by itself. I am having a tech problem, and i believe the display card is the main problem as everything else seems to check, how can i disable it and go back to the display card-less...
aayushagra Video Card Support 37 03-25-2013 09:29 AM
[SOLVED] I am installing a new power supply now... a missing cable?
I removed my dell power supply and now installing a new one. I am installing this one: https://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/3328/2595/-/18832167/Corsair-Enthusiast-Series-TX650-V2-High-Performance-650W-ATX-Power-Supply/Product.html?searchfilters=ae36{Corsair}%2b However, the older power supply had...
yhayatli Cases and Cooling 4 04-27-2011 09:45 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts