Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

phpMyAdmin Import from Compressed File

This is a discussion on phpMyAdmin Import from Compressed File within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm trying to import an sql file into my database which is above the 50 Mibibtye limit, so I compress


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2017, 07:18 AM   #1
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


I'm trying to import an sql file into my database which is above the 50 Mibibtye limit, so I compress the file to get it to fit. The problem is when I zip it as a RAR, I get this: "#1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'Rar!' at line 1 "
and if I try to use WinZip I get this: " No files found inside ZIP archive!"

MySQL 5.5 and php version 7
server is Debian

I don't think I can edit the php.ini file to increase the upload limit since it's a shared virtual host.
-WOLF- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2017, 10:52 PM   #2
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6,492
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Hmm, this is a good question. I would honestly ask your hosting provider about this one. I don't have a lot of experience with such issues. Wish i could be more help!
__________________


Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 10-01-2017, 09:34 AM   #3
Windows Specialist, Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 10 Pro



If the file is a complete database, I would open it in MySQL Workbench and copy/paste the SQL code.
__________________

Sysnative BSOD Academy Instructor


axe0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-2017, 10:48 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by axe0 View Post
If the file is a complete database, I would open it in MySQL Workbench and copy/paste the SQL code.
If by complete database you mean the entirety of the site and all of its contents? No it's only a specific section of a database. It's the revision history to my media wiki project in specific.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 10-01-2017, 11:42 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by axe0 View Post
If the file is a complete database, I would open it in MySQL Workbench and copy/paste the SQL code.
I tried to use that, but if I need an Oracle account. Can I use SQL Workbench instead?
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 10-01-2017, 02:58 PM   #6
Windows Specialist, Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Not sure what you mean, but SQL Workbench can be used for a MySQL server.
__________________

Sysnative BSOD Academy Instructor


axe0 is offline  
Old 10-01-2017, 04:22 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by axe0 View Post
Not sure what you mean, but SQL Workbench can be used for a MySQL server.
There's this version of SQL Workbench which isn't designed by Oracle and then there's the Oracle version was mostly wondering if there's a difference, since I need some kind of driver for the former and an account for the latter (where it says "MySQL.com is using Oracle SSO for authentication. If you already have an Oracle Web account, click the Login link. Otherwise, you can signup for a free account by clicking the Sign Up link and following the instructions." --that's not something I'd just want to know if I can get around)
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 10-01-2017, 04:48 PM   #8
Windows Specialist, Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 10 Pro



I mean MySQL Workbench, not SQL Workbench, didn't know there are more workbenches.

You can download MySQL Workbench without creating an account, scroll a little to see the download link.
__________________

Sysnative BSOD Academy Instructor


axe0 is offline  
Old 10-07-2017, 11:32 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


OK so I've been trying for over an hour now trying to connect using Workbench. I'm not sure what I'm missing.

I managed to get around error 10060 (by connecting using SSH, it won't work otherwise), but now I either get an IO error timeout, or general SSH error.
I've ensured that port 3306 is enabled on my server's firewall, I've ensured there are no mistakes in my SSH hostname, username, or password, I've ensured that the web hostname and username are correct. All passwords are correct.

What am I missing?
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 10-07-2017, 04:11 PM   #10
Windows Specialist, Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 10 Pro



I have never needed to connect to a server, so I don't know why you get those errors.
I did, however, found a few possible solutions, some are aged though.

Not posting the solutions directly, that would make this post a mess.

- https://forums.mysql.com/read.php?34,49742,239961
- https://www.digitalocean.com/communi...?comment=17190
- https://dev.mysql.com/doc/workbench/...nt-wizard.html, workbench user manual
- https://dba.stackexchange.com/a/12167, some tests that could help narrowing down the cause
__________________

Sysnative BSOD Academy Instructor


axe0 is offline  
Old 10-22-2017, 08:54 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


OK. I was able to get it to work.

Do you know anything about MediaWiki and how it stores strings? I've figured out that how to repair my database which was my initial intention.
The situation was that my wiki was assaulted by spambots, so I'm trying to do cleanup. In my efforts to try and clean up my wiki at the database level, I removed far too much from the 'text' table (actually I removed all of it - unfortunately there's not a lot of info on Google about what exactly each MediaWiki table does). However, I figured out that 99.9% of my wiki's article data is safe prior to a certain point.

So then my problem comes that I've deleted the revision history for at least one critically important page and I can't simply do a roll back since I get errors due to other intermediate data loss.

Edit: Actually I figured out that I can translate it from hex to plaintext. This will help me figure out what's been done. So the main problem is below:

when I copy-paste from my backup database (the one that's too large to upload) and into the modified table, it immediately crashes my Workbench.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 10-22-2017, 09:10 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Double post since it's been too long to edit my post -- just for an fyi / something I discovered - Note that the revision number does not match the entry number in sql - for example: revision #161099 is actually entry 160958.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 10-22-2017, 10:39 AM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,127
OS: Windows 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by -WOLF- View Post


when I copy-paste from my backup database (the one that's too large to upload) and into the modified table, it immediately crashes my Workbench.
Not sure exactly but it seems like I resolved this issue. Essentially I just cut larger entries to multiple parts and then copy-paste it over and it seems to stop complaining.

Sorry again for the triple-post. I think I'll go ahead and consider this 'closed' since my initial concern was addressed and I'm able to work around the issues.

Thank you so much Axe0!

Lessons learned: invest in dedicated hosting so I can have unlimited database capacity, modification of php settings, and actual backups.
-WOLF- is offline  
Old 10-22-2017, 11:18 AM   #14
Windows Specialist, Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Good to know it has been resolved.
__________________

Sysnative BSOD Academy Instructor


axe0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Explorer stops responding or runs slow
I have an older laptop with an Intel processor and 4GB of RAM running Vista. I am having issues which seem mainly to be in Internet Explorer and to a lesser extent in other programs as well. There are times when going into Windwos Mail that I get a message at the top of the page that says not...
jackdup Resolved HJT Threads 61 01-03-2015 03:15 PM
[SOLVED] Multiple BSODs
For the past month or so I have been getting a number of BSODs. It seems kind of random and occurs whenever I type in my internet browser's address bar. The weird thing is that it happens randomly. One moment I could type without worry and the next I get a BSOD. Below, I've posted the results of...
soulcross19 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 03-19-2013 05:36 AM
PC running slower and slower
Hi,I need you guys to help me out...my computer has been running slower and slower over the past few weeks and i cannot figure out why. I have tried to follow the instructions of the sticky to the best of my ability . I ran avira antivirus and some hits came up but i am not sure if they are false...
ComputerNubCake Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 4 06-10-2012 06:35 AM
For Ried
Hi there is a attachment ark.zip with 'dds' and 'ark'. . DDS (Ver_11-05-19.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_13 Run by Owner at 22:01:08 on 2011-05-29 Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600.3.1252.1.1033.18.959.243 . AV: McAfee Anti-Virus and...
Nela09 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 78 06-09-2011 07:32 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts