Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

IE 10 not rendering my site correctly

This is a discussion on IE 10 not rendering my site correctly within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The page in question is Portfolio . In Firefox, clicking on a thumbnail displays the image correctly, in the space


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2013, 10:00 AM   #1
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



The page in question is Portfolio.

In Firefox, clicking on a thumbnail displays the image correctly, in the space to the right, like this:



In IE 10, clicking the thumbnail takes you to Photobucket, which is where the larger images are hosted.

Anyone know what causes this and how it might be fixed?

Thanks.
Peano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2013, 10:50 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Could you please post your coding for this section so we can take a better look at it?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:20 AM   #3
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Could you please post your coding for this section so we can take a better look at it?
Sure. This is the coding for that image.

<td width="50%" align="center"><a href="https://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f164/Peano2/radiantpics/fox1.jpg" rel="enlargeimage::click" rev="loadarea" title="Meesh R. Fink photo, copyright 2010"><img src="th/fox1_t.jpg" alt="fox" width="100" height="100" border="0"></a></td>
<td width="50%" align="center"><a href="https://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f164/Peano2/radiantpics/fox2.jpg" rel="enlargeimage::click" rev="loadarea"><img src="th/fox2_t.jpg" alt="fox" width="100" height="100" border="0"></a></td>
Peano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2013, 11:37 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,044
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Moving thread from IE to Web Forum.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:56 AM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Moving thread from IE to Web Forum.
Thank you.

Additional info: Using the Fire IE add-on with Firefox, I find that the page in question displays correctly for all previous versions of IE back to 7. IE 10 is where the problem occurs.

Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 01:55 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Sorry for the late reply, I didn't notice this got moved.

Looks like an issue with maybe the CSS.

Have you tried changing this:
enlargeimage::click

To this:
enlargeimage:click
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 02:27 PM   #7
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Sorry for the late reply, I didn't notice this got moved.

Looks like an issue with maybe the CSS.

Have you tried changing this:
enlargeimage::click

To this:
enlargeimage:click
Thanks. I just gave that a try, but with that change, the thumbnail wouldn't display at all. Looked it was trying to access the image at Photobucket again, but it didn't display.

The other thumbs (with enlargeimage::click) opened in Photobucket as before.

Very puzzling. This is only with IE 10. All the earlier versions display correctly, in the area to the right of the thumbs.
Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 02:32 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


It may be a bug in IE 10 CSS3 and HTML5 rendering.

This looks more like a CSS error then anything.

By the way something super simple such as a comma could cause a problem.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 03:18 PM   #9
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
It may be a bug in IE 10 CSS3 and HTML5 rendering.

This looks more like a CSS error then anything.

By the way something super simple such as a comma could cause a problem.
I agree. The most telling fact seems to be that I don't know of display problems in any other browser, nor any earlier version of IE. If there's a bug, it would seem to be in IE 10.
Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 03:35 PM   #10
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


What I would suggest in the mean time is to create a [If IE] code area so IE 10 users will be able to use the site.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 04:00 PM   #11
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
What I would suggest in the mean time is to create a [If IE] code area so IE 10 users will be able to use the site.
I don't have the technical skills to do that. Someone else built the site. I only know how to add and remove images, add and edit text, and other simple chores. I did put a note on that page warning IE 10 users of the problem.
Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 04:47 PM   #12
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
Someone else built the site.
Contact them asking them to fix the issue.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 04:56 PM   #13
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Contact them asking them to fix the issue.
I tried a few months ago when I needed a new site built. Saw a notice on her website saying she's not taking on any new projects. And it's still there.

I'm more inclined to just let the IE 10 users deal with it. Firefox is always available. I wouldn't use IE if Microsoft paid me to.
Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 05:02 PM   #14
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Honestly I enjoy IE and wouldn't use any other browser. Something to take note for a website owner is IE is the worlds largest used browser.

But that option for your website is up to you.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 05:05 PM   #15
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Honestly I enjoy IE and wouldn't use any other browser. Something to take note for a website owner is IE is the worlds largest used browser.

But that option for your website is up to you.
You like it, you use it. I think it sucks big-time. If there were any way I could get Microsoft entirely out of my life, I would do it in a heartbeat ... and there are many millions who share my sentiments on that point.
Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 06:27 PM   #16
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



The problem has been neither solved nor resolved. It is typical of the Microsoft mentality to declare problems "solved" when they and their abysmal software are the cause of a problem they can't solve.

The. Problem. Is. Not. Solved.
Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 06:38 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Tomshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,749
OS: XP, Windows7-8, Server03, Server08, SBS2008, SBS2011, Server2012

My System


clicking the backward compatibility icon fixes the problem.

Got to love it when the site(s) do not keep up with the latest browsers fast enough
__________________
MemTest86 BenchTest IMGBurn Seatools Drive Fitness DataLifeguard Connectivity Issues

I work about 60 hours a week and spend the rest of my time with Family and a couple of online communities, so please be patient when waiting for a reply
Tomshawk is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 06:47 PM   #18
Troubled
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7 x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomshawk View Post
Got to love it when the site(s) do not keep up with the latest browsers fast enough
Got to love it when Microsucks has to put a reverse gear on its software to make it work properly.
Peano is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 07:02 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Tomshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,749
OS: XP, Windows7-8, Server03, Server08, SBS2008, SBS2011, Server2012

My System


At least they put a reverse gear for sites that haven't caught up yet. ;)
__________________
MemTest86 BenchTest IMGBurn Seatools Drive Fitness DataLifeguard Connectivity Issues

I work about 60 hours a week and spend the rest of my time with Family and a couple of online communities, so please be patient when waiting for a reply
Tomshawk is offline  
Old 05-16-2013, 05:45 AM   #20
Moderator
-Articles Team
-Games Team
 
Redeye3323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk, East Anglia, England, United Kingdom, Europe, Earth, Milky Way, Universe
Posts: 12,469
OS: Windows 10 (PC), 8.1 (Laptop)

My System

I know the issue and its fixable...

You need to add the following after the "<head>" line..

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge">


So it would look like this (no comments between the head and meta tag please)


<head>
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge">
__________________
-Redeye3323
Games & Articles Team


Redeye3323 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPN - Server 2008 dial-out/in. Site A to site B (BT Public IP Address)
Hello all, Good to join this forum https://b.tsgstatic.com/smilies/biggrin.gif Anyway, Please can someone support me regarding connecting a Windows Server 2008 standard that needs to connect to another Windows server in another country outside of UK (Site B). The ports 1433 and 3030 are...
Harvey-ST Windows Servers 5 12-13-2012 12:21 AM
[SOLVED] problem connecting to a particular site
my computer is clean i scanned it with AVG and malwarebytes and it didn't detect any viruses. i have problem connecting to the site gamefaqs.com i frequently can't load the page. in Mozilla it said problem loading page etc.. i tried internet explorer and google chrome and i get the same result....
BennyZars Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 2 06-30-2012 04:27 PM
[SOLVED] uploaded site shows index, not site
I created a web-site using Microsoft WebMatrix, on my computer. It is in cshtml which I had never heard of before (in case that is relevant). Tried to get it to host from my computer, but finally realized that hosting a site needs special software and gave up. I did have a hosted website, so I...
silvergoat Web Serving and Management 10 04-17-2011 06:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts