Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

How to say tst.x.com but reach upg.x.com ?

This is a discussion on How to say tst.x.com but reach upg.x.com ? within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I realize this is not strictly a web-server-mgt question, but I think the right expertise may be present here. Corrections

Closed Thread

Old 01-21-2013, 08:48 AM   #1
Registered Member

I realize this is not strictly a web-server-mgt question, but I think the right expertise may be present here. Corrections welcomed, I am a newbie here.

We have a WebLogic app server / web server setup. We run a Java program that does Web Services calls using the RightNow API. Our production site runs it, and updates (and reads) our Prod RightNow instance, using a URL like ourProd.custhelp.com . On our QC instances of our site, our WebLogic servers run the same pgm and it uses a URL like ourTest.custhelp.com . It updates our Test instance of RightNow.

Oracle has created an upgrade site, which we must test, including this Java program. It is at a URL like ourUpgrade.custhelp.com .

Ping tells me that ourTest...com and ourUpgrade....com both are the same IP address.

Admins tell me that the RightNow servers or routers must be analyzing the text in the URLs, and doing the necessary within their network. Web browsers do reach the two different sites by using the two URLs.

We do not want to change our QC sites to use the URL ourUpgrade.custhelp.com . Instead, we want to leave them as-is, but temporarily, we want them to actually reach ourUpgrade.custhelp.com without "realizing" it.

Is that possible? How?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-21-2013, 03:32 PM   #2
Articles Team
Alternative Computing

My System