Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

How to say tst.x.com but reach upg.x.com ?

This is a discussion on How to say tst.x.com but reach upg.x.com ? within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I realize this is not strictly a web-server-mgt question, but I think the right expertise may be present here. Corrections


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2013, 08:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Server 2008



I realize this is not strictly a web-server-mgt question, but I think the right expertise may be present here. Corrections welcomed, I am a newbie here.

We have a WebLogic app server / web server setup. We run a Java program that does Web Services calls using the RightNow API. Our production site runs it, and updates (and reads) our Prod RightNow instance, using a URL like ourProd.custhelp.com . On our QC instances of our site, our WebLogic servers run the same pgm and it uses a URL like ourTest.custhelp.com . It updates our Test instance of RightNow.

Oracle has created an upgrade site, which we must test, including this Java program. It is at a URL like ourUpgrade.custhelp.com .

Ping tells me that ourTest...com and ourUpgrade....com both are the same IP address.

Admins tell me that the RightNow servers or routers must be analyzing the text in the URLs, and doing the necessary within their network. Web browsers do reach the two different sites by using the two URLs.

We do not want to change our QC sites to use the URL ourUpgrade.custhelp.com . Instead, we want to leave them as-is, but temporarily, we want them to actually reach ourUpgrade.custhelp.com without "realizing" it.

Is that possible? How?
StillUsingNotes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2013, 03:32 PM   #2
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,537
OS: PC: Kubuntu 15.04 & Win7 - Chromebook: ChromeOS

My System


Correct me if I'm wrong here but this sounds like you want some sort of cloaked forwarding setup so someone going to ourprod.domain will be re-directed to ourupgrade.domain but the url stays at ourprod. If so then this is a change you would make either dns side through your hosting provider or through apache or iis on your server.
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 01-22-2013, 06:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Server 2008



I think what I want is slightly different. I cannot change anything that the RightNow systems do (custhelp.com), or, how they are set up. I would instead like to change our own outbound traffic to target a different URL at the text level, but to do it outside of the program that is generating the traffic.

Maybe this is impossible. Maybe it ought to be impossible, for reasons of integrity and security.
StillUsingNotes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 01:47 PM   #4
Moderator
Articles Team
Alternative Computing
 
SteveThePirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 4,537
OS: PC: Kubuntu 15.04 & Win7 - Chromebook: ChromeOS

My System


Hi,

I'm still not quite sure what you mean. I've got a slight idea that you might need to modify the htaccess file on your server(if it's Linux) in order to do what you want, but we'll leave the question open for other suggestions.

Steve
__________________

Registered Linux User #556090
SteveThePirate is offline  
Old 01-22-2013, 02:29 PM   #5
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


The only thing that comes to mind is setting up an intermediary DNS server with a CNAME entry pointing all your outgoing traffic bound for ourtest.custhelp.com to the site ourupgrade.custhelp.com
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't reach one site
For some reason, I am unable to reach Ann Coulter - Official Home Page on my computer. It's been several weeks since I was last able to visit the site. The problem happens in every browser I have, including recent or current versions of Firefox, IE, Opera and Chrome. I can reach any other website I...
HenryCan Windows XP Support 15 10-28-2012 10:04 AM
Xbox LIVE randomly disconnects mostly with Halo Reach
Hello, this is my first post so I'm hoping I'm not doing anything wrong. Anyway my problem is that ever since I've had Xbox LIVE (on and off for 2-3 years) I've had trouble with my LIVE connection. I've had the most trouble with Halo 3 and Halo Reach where I'll be searching for a game and it...
CooktheCrafty Online/Network Gaming Support 0 01-23-2012 04:10 PM
asus laptop wont charge or reach login screen
Hi guys, I just recovered my asus g50v laptop from a virus that i was able to completely remove. Everything was running fine after so I wanted to back up my data on to my external. It was running slow so I decided to turn it off then turn it on again to rerun it. But, for some reason it it...
jkwonpun Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 12-25-2011 03:53 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts