Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Export & Import Wordpress blog

This is a discussion on Export & Import Wordpress blog within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a problem here. I am running a blog under wordpress.com with almost 100 posts. Nothing big. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2014, 08:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
xmarkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 188
OS: Windows 7 Professional & Backtrack 5 R3

My System


Hello,

I have a problem here. I am running a blog under wordpress.com with almost 100 posts. Nothing big. I want to export everything to my computer. I am also running xampp and I installed a new wordpress blog at my localhost. Same theme. When I tried to upload the xml file things went wrong.

Feature image can not be uploaded.
Some posts are not uploaded (~60% of whole was successfully uploaded)
At me home page there are no posts and only the first hello (default post)

Can anyone help me out? What am i doing wrong? :? My goal is to create a blog at my localhost and then upload it to a new server where i can fully customize it.

thank you for your time guys.
xmarkx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2014, 10:20 PM   #2
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 6,492
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

I would start with reading the Moving WordPress. It should get you started and pointed in the right direction.
__________________


Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline  
Old 04-26-2014, 11:36 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



I would say you have some settings wrong at the local host. try opening the xml file with notepad or some other text editor and see if any of the missing posts are in the file. you will see a bunch of strange symbols between posts but the post themselves will be readable. this will verify that your xml file is okay. if the posts are missing, then you will need to export the file again from wordpress.com

if the xml file is okay, then check to see if the missing posts are from the same catagories. for example if all of your posts are in one catagory but another is missing posts, you need to check the catagory setting. what about widgets settings? are they the same? some widgets at wordpress.com is a modified addon. so you may need the actual addon in the script.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WOrdpress 3.5 Internal Server Error W3 Cache
OK, so I installed that w3 cache plugin... Now I am getting a Internal Server Error error. I tried deleting the plugin through FTP, it didn't work. What can I do? Help please? Not sure if this helps but here's what my HTaccess says: Here is the error log on my root. I took out my username...
wwe9112 Web Design & Development 3 12-16-2012 01:15 AM
Import / export between MS visio 2003 and MS project 2003 for timeline
I have set up time line in Visio 2003 where I want to be able to add my own shapes or modify my shapes to add milestone property ( ie date ) and then export / import data between Project 2003 and Visio 2003. I have a number of timelines. The milestone is represented as circle and a cyliner as a...
rashiklalshah Microsoft Office support 0 10-31-2011 09:00 AM
Google Friends Connect Members Gadget w/ Multiple Url/Aggregated Feed Wordpress Blog
I think I have an interesting blog challenge, which is a self-hosted Wordpress(.org). I would like to set up my blog, with Google Friends Connect, and have the Members Gadget in all of my SIDEBARS. I have 7 sidebars, because my blog consists of 7 slightly different urls, that are all connected...
Plymrocker Web Design & Development 8 06-22-2011 07:04 AM
Import export IE settings
Is there a way to import or export IE settings so that I can compare my settings with those of my colleague? I have a web application that lets users click on a link to view a zipped folder, which resides in a database. My colleague clicks the link and he is taken to another page, where a Save...
cashdesk Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 1 06-13-2011 11:39 AM
[SOLVED] Can import but not export printers
Hi! I am in the work to clear up among the printers and change to a dedicated server. Currently today we have two printservers, virtual server 2005 windows 2003 r2 32-bit servers, one is also a AD server. I have one windows 2008 r2 64-bit server (AD server) And one VirtualBox windows 2003...
Upaco Windows Servers 1 01-28-2011 02:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts