Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Domain issues

This is a discussion on Domain issues within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, the company I've just started working for is asking me IT issues which I don't know anything about. Can


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2014, 08:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Win7



Hi, the company I've just started working for is asking me IT issues which I don't know anything about. Can you guys help me?

The situation is that we're currently running one domain on godaddy.com but we want to switch to a cheaper provider so we can run multiple domains. The issue is that we want to keep this website running whilst building another website with the same name so we're not down too long.

Is this possible, if so can you explain to me how? I'm sorry if this doesn't make any sense I'm struggling to understand it, English major, great choice. Thanks guys.
Goldalinemydeer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-2014, 12:20 PM   #2
Design Team
 
DDAoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Interwebs
Posts: 433
OS: Windows 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7, 10, Server 2003, Server 2008, Server 2012, Linux, UNIX

My System


Assuming your hosting service is also through GoDaddy, you can find your new hosting service and build the new website using either and sub-domain or the new host's default domain while the original stays on GoDaddy. Once you are ready to have the new site go live, you simply transfer the domain from GoDaddy to the new host (they can be pointed to the new server through the hostname configuration). You'd be best bringing questions on details of conducting a transfer of domain name to the current and future hosts.

By running both the old and new servers concurrently, you can have both up without any downtime for the original until you are ready for the new one to go live. At which point, you may have little more than a few minutes of downtime when the domain is redirected.
__________________
I will not provide support in response to PMs or e-mails. If you require support, please post a thread in the appropriate section.
Please bare in mind that no individual is all-knowing on anything. Take the advice and knowledge of everyone and make your own knowledge database.
DDAoN is offline  
Old 10-02-2014, 01:01 AM   #3
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


There actually shouldn't be any downtime during the transfer. People will see the old site until the DNS details update, then they'll see the new site.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2014, 05:26 AM   #4
Design Team
 
DDAoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Interwebs
Posts: 433
OS: Windows 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7, 10, Server 2003, Server 2008, Server 2012, Linux, UNIX

My System


True, there shouldn't be any actual downtime, but it is always a possibility with network latency, though I've never heard of a domain transfer being any more than 5 minutes because of that. I only mentioned it because it has happened and could, but it's highly unlikely.
__________________
I will not provide support in response to PMs or e-mails. If you require support, please post a thread in the appropriate section.
Please bare in mind that no individual is all-knowing on anything. Take the advice and knowledge of everyone and make your own knowledge database.
DDAoN is offline  
Old 10-08-2014, 03:10 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Win7



Thanks for the help guys.
Goldalinemydeer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Update acting weird!
I don't think this is a problem, more of a curiosity, hence posting here. If it turns out that it is a problem, I'll get someone to move it to the appropriate forum. Got a notification earlier that new updates are available. As you will see from the pics, "4 important updates available" but only...
Deejay100six Offline 13 04-09-2014 08:19 AM
[SOLVED] DVD-writer copying issues or something more?
Hi! Just so you know my knowledge in IT matters is very low. Ok, I'll try to explain best my issue. My new dvd-writer, a LG GH22NS70 SATA, has some issues copying files onto the same pc on which it is connected, most frequently dvd's written with it, but as I noticed today also those media written...
Alesianduke Removable Media Drives 9 05-14-2012 12:07 AM
Windows 2003 Server and Windows 2008 Server
Hello, I have a problem. I have a old Dell Windows 2003 Domain Controller server. We purchased a new server, the old is out of warranty, Insurance. The thought is to add the new Dell 2008 R2 server to the Domain and then prompt it to Domain controller and demote the 2003 to a member. PS...
sblair_5 Windows Servers 20 04-06-2012 02:12 PM
Desktop bare, Task Manager absent
So, I'm having a bit of a problem here. I turn on my computer, it works fine. I log in, see my desktop and all my beautiful little icons, then after a second or two they all disappear, as does the taskbar. A little bit after that, I'd estimate four seconds later, a white fullscreen window...
ArkadyOfMars Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 17 02-24-2012 09:35 AM
video streaming issues
I have for the last four days been experiencing some extremely slow video streaming problems with all website involving flash (netflix, youtube, hulu, etc.). The video will play for about 2 minutes and then stop, then play again for 2 minutes, then stop. Buffering is extremely slow, even...
ece421 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 07-02-2011 06:33 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts