Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Serving and Management

User Tag List

Confusion about servers?! advice needed...

This is a discussion on Confusion about servers?! advice needed... within the Web Serving and Management forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'v been designing an app for android and found a developer to make it, I'm not amazing at servers

Closed Thread

Old 04-18-2014, 04:46 AM   #1
Registered Member

EEK!

Hi, I'v been designing an app for android and found a developer to make it, I'm not amazing at servers and domains..ect

The idea of the app is people visit it once per day to win prizes, the problem is this requires a server to hold their data, originally he was going to design the app and host the server, the problem is he is no longer able to set it up for over 3 moths, after those 3 months I need to set up my own server and transfer the data although I have no knowledge of how servers work, the data they need to store and so on...

Here is what he told me about the server and I would be extremely grateful if somebody could tell me the basics of what it means and point me to the best host and what I need to buy from them+ Costs

"I used the value of 300,000 from our previous communications and relayed this to my hosting company. This is worked out in potential bytes used.
My database for each record would be as follows:
Registration details = ~250 bytes per person.
Prize details = ~250 bytes per prize.
Bucket details = ~16 bytes per entry.
A week using the above (and 300,000 users) would be as follows:
Users = 75,000,000 bytes (~71.53MB)
Prize = as is.
Bucket = 16 x 300,000 x 7 = 33,600,000 bytes (~32.04MB).
Added together this would be a database of over 100MB per week with about 2,100,000 "good" hits.
To do the same calculations with 7,000 users (daily 7,000 "good" hits) then the following would apply:
Users = 1,750,000 bytes (~1.67MB)
Prize = as is.
Bucket = 16 x 7,000 x 7 = 784,000 bytes (~0.75MB).