Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Windows XP can't reformat hard disk

This is a discussion on Windows XP can't reformat hard disk within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Computer newbie here, I have a problem with a Western Digital 40 GB hard drive that's currently hooked up as

Closed Thread

Old 05-29-2005, 09:17 PM   #1

Computer newbie here, I have a problem with a Western Digital 40 GB hard drive that's currently hooked up as a slave drive (it's always worked until now). The problem came when I needed my current Hitachi 60 GB drive for something else. I decided to put XP on my slave drive, and instead of redoing the installation, decided to simply copy the files over... I used Ranish Partition Manager, not knowing that it wouldn't work if the two drives weren't the same size... Needless to say, the copy didn't work, and now Windows thinks my WD HDD is 60 GB, and every time I try to reformat it, Windows give me an error at the end.

So how can I get Windows to recognize my hard drive for what it is so I can reformat it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-30-2005, 07:10 AM   #2

Try using WD Datalifegaurd tools.

https://support.wdc.com/download/inde...pid=999&swid=1
Old 05-30-2005, 07:24 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

Hello:

I would try using a win98se "start-up" floppy disk. That disk has MS fdisk on it. If you dont have one you can get one from dootdisk.com

Prior to doing this I "strongly" advise you unplug the "good" drive that has your OS and files on.

Connect the "messed up" new drive to the cables using it as a master drive (jumper pins on drive")

Make sure bios is set to boot from "A" drive first

Put floppy drive in and boot computer

you should get a dos "A" prompt

enter FDISK at the prompt

that will bring up the fdisk utility