Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

WD SmartWare USB Drive Having a Cyclic Redundancy Problem

2K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  Networks 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello, this is my first time asking for help in a technical problem (or any problem for that matter), I found that you guys have two threads which seem similar to the problem that I am now facing.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/for...rtition-or-files-in-your-computer-194492.html
http://www.techsupportforum.com/for...-hd-not-formatted-all-of-a-sudden-200538.html

With what I saw, I was pretty impressed with what I saw and became quite hopeful that this would work so here I am. Please help, I would appreciate it more than you may know.

My USB drive is a 1 Terabyte WD Smartware (MyPassport) USB drive.
It shows up in my Disk Manager except it doesn’t show how much data has been used.
I also put a password on it long before it stopped working and the password part still works.

However, whenever I try to double-click on it – it asks me if I want to format it or not.
Now, in digital terms, I know that it is actually asking when it is translated: “Do you want to delete EVERYTHING so that you can start ALL OVER?”
Above everything, I do not want to start all over.

I have researched several programs and they all let you recover files, but if I can help it – I would like to be able to keep File Names and File Directory.
TestDisk (latest version: 6.13) seemed to be the best option because it recovers partitions so that the USB will work again.

So far, I made TestDisk (latest version: 6.13) scan my Disk by following these steps (it took the whole entire night to do so)

- Double-click “trydisk_win” application

- Choose [Create]

- Choose [Proceed] with my USB drive = Disk /dev/sdh – 999 GB / 930 GiB – WD MyPassport 070A

- Since I am running a Windows __, choose [Intel]

- [Analyse]

- [Quick Search]

- [Deeper Search]

It didn’t show any new partitions