Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

WD 2TB HD failing

This is a discussion on WD 2TB HD failing within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I've got an external HD that appears to be failing. It's a 2TB (NTFS) with about 1.5TB of data


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2011, 04:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



Hello,

I've got an external HD that appears to be failing. It's a 2TB (NTFS) with about 1.5TB of data on it. It initially popped up with the error that it needed to be formatted to be used. I ran chkdsk /f and it did finish, but it found several "$I30" errors in the indexes. It's no longer giving the error on formatting, but I can't copy the contents. It fails every time even if I just select a small portion of data. I've tried some data recovery tools as well. One of which I'm using now is Recover my files. At the rate it's scanning blocks it will take weeks to complete. All I really need is a solution to get the data off there before it fails, and back it up to a network drive where I have room for the data. The end user has already purchased a new HD. Any thoughts?
JonnySack69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2011, 04:50 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Which tools have you tried? GetDataBack allows you to work around bad areas of the drive by selecting starting and ending sectors. That may be worth a shot.

Whatever happens I hope you've explained to them that storing their files on a single drive is not a good idea.
JMPC is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 04:57 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



I've tried EASEUS, which wouldn't allow me to save directly to a network drive, Recover my files (the one I mentioned), and I've tried the WD diagnostic tools. The WD quick test failed, and the extended test stated there were too many errors. I can get a couple very small files to copy, but anything larger and it will lock up in the middle of the process. I googled Get Data Back, and it appears to run around $80. Any free software that would do the same thing?
JonnySack69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2011, 04:58 AM   #4
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,255
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


You will get the "need to Format drive" when windows can not read the boot sector, the drive will show as a RAW drive. Testdisk may be able to rewrite the boot sector TestDisk - CGSecurity make sure to read the wiki.

Your other option would be to reformat the drive as NTFS, then recover the data, as crazy as it sounds, your data will still be on the drive, just don't write any new files to the drive until you have recovered the data.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 05:19 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



I'm giving TestDisk a try now, and I'll post whatever results I have with that. I've seen that mentioned a few times. Just to clarify, I don't care about the drive, I just want to bypass the errors to get the data copied, and Windows is not cooperating. Thanks all for the help so far.
JonnySack69 is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:56 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jay_JWLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,016
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1 - 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by alpenadiver View Post
You will get the "need to Format drive" when windows can not read the boot sector, the drive will show as a RAW drive. Testdisk may be able to rewrite the boot sector TestDisk - CGSecurity make sure to read the wiki.

Your other option would be to reformat the drive as NTFS, then recover the data, as crazy as it sounds, your data will still be on the drive, just don't write any new files to the drive until you have recovered the data.
And make sure it is a quick format, not a full format.
Jay_JWLH is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:02 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Jay_JWLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,016
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1 - 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnySack69 View Post
I'm giving TestDisk a try now, and I'll post whatever results I have with that. I've seen that mentioned a few times. Just to clarify, I don't care about the drive, I just want to bypass the errors to get the data copied, and Windows is not cooperating. Thanks all for the help so far.
I've tried copying files off a dying hard drive as well. One time I had a drive with a firmware problem. Found the firmware update that would stop it from bricking itself, but not before it was starting to happen. The silly thing is, I booted off a Windows Pre-install environment kind of disk, and using notepad copied the files over (File > Open). Of course.... I couldn't see how progress was going except to see the hard drive activity light going. I would suggest that you try out BartPE, and get GetDataBack onto it as well. Running the process outside of a OS might be a good idea.

If you are doing this for commercial use, then this is all the more reason why you should buy GetDataBack and keep it as a favorite file recovery program for future use.
Jay_JWLH is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 11:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



Gents, this appears to be fixed, but I'll follow up if it's not. Test disk seems to have fixed the errors, and I was able to copy a couple folders that initially would lock up. I ended up running the deeper search, and then rewriting the partition. After a reboot it seemed tons quicker, and like I say it started letting me copy folders it previously would lock up on. The end user is moving files to a new HD now. Thanks for all the help.
JonnySack69 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
not sure if caught a virus or hard disk is failing
Hi, I'm Trevor and I'm completely new to this forum but if I can get some help I promise I will contribute to this forum. I have a Sony VAIO with Windows 7 Home and just 3 days ago I finally turned off my laptop as in full shut down and not just sleep mode. When I turned it back on I would see...
trevor5249 Hard Drive Support 1 05-12-2011 03:34 AM
Hard drive failing, need to make image
I have an HP system with a failing hard drive. I discovered this when my Acronis backup kept failing. I then installed Paragon and had the same problem. I contacted HP and we determined that the hard drive is bad. I then tried to use the built in Win7 imaging tool but even it failed. It...
victord66 Hard Drive Support 4 04-21-2011 09:09 AM
Hard Drives Keep Failing? Help! :)
Hi, I seem to have an odd problem where it appears that my primary HDDs keep failing. I have gone through at least 3 or 4 hard disks in as many years already, and now a new one that I bought only a few months ago has started clicking and freezing up and it's getting ridiculous now. What could...
ghost1845 Hard Drive Support 3 04-10-2011 02:41 AM
[SOLVED] Should I buy Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB or F4 2TB?
Hi I am about to upgrade my PC's HDD. I am planning on keeping one of my two 250GB HDD I currently have, to install Windows and programs on (WDC WD25 00JS-75NCB2 (ATAPI0/SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)). I won't need TBs of space for that. to much of a pain to defrag. I am then planning on...
peterpan9988 Hard Drive Support 2 03-04-2011 03:33 AM
Problem: Extremely low read speeds on Samsung 2TB
Hello, I have been struggling with this problem for a while now, I tried some forums but nobody seems to know what's going on. I hope some guru here can help me! I have a system with the following setup: AsRock K7vt4a pro AMD Athlon XP 3000+ 2x1GB PC3200 DDR1 (Running at 2700) Eminent PCI...
savagefarmer Hard Drive Support 0 01-05-2011 05:43 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts