Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Used Killdisk on WD My Passport

This is a discussion on Used Killdisk on WD My Passport within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I used killdisk on my WD Passport 320GB to try to erase everything. I hit the "Kill Disk" button and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2011, 01:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
OS: xp sp3



I used killdisk on my WD Passport 320GB to try to erase everything. I hit the "Kill Disk" button and started erasing, in the middle of it there was something I forgot to backup. And when I stopped the wiping my passport. I exited the "Active Killdisk" program. I restarted and the computer didn't show the external HD. But when I open active killdisk, it shows it.

Any idea how to fix? It costed me $60 and I don't feel like buying a new one.
xxd3d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2011, 01:41 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,527
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Your computer cannot "see" that drive anymore because "Active Kill Disk" not only destroys data, it also destroys the partition containing that data. Windows Explorer can't show a drive which has no partitions or drive-letters assigned to it.

You will need to create a new partition on the drive, then format it, after which Windows will assign a drive-letter to it.

With the drive connected, go into Control Panel >> Administrative Tools >> Computer Management.

In the left-pane, click Disk Management.
In the right-pane at bottom, right-click the horizontal ribbon which represents the external drive and choose "Create Partition".

When partition has been created, right-click the ribbon again and choose "Format".
pip22 is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 01:59 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
OS: xp sp3



Thanks alot, I also have another question.

I want to change it from NTFS to FAT32 so I can play video files and music on my PS3. But I was reading and it said that you should only convert it to FAT32 if it's 32GB or less.

And if I can, what free program should I use?
xxd3d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2011, 03:47 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,434
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux


Try swissknife
Networks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WD Passport Connectivity Problem
I apologize for the brevity of this post, as it is nearly midnight and I've got to head to campus in six hours. I'm having a fairly serious problem with my WD Passport Essentials (WD2500ME). Whenever I connect my Passport to my laptop, it works like a charm. This laptop is a Toshiba Satellite...
Winterbane Removable Media Drives 3 03-11-2011 05:43 PM
when connected my western digit passport 500GBto lap it asks to format first
hiii friends i had a 500GB WD MYPASSPORT today morning when i connected it to my lap it shows the message "you NEED TO FORMAT THE DISK IN DRIVE J:BEFORE YOU CAN USE IT".Before this my HDD is working good and it has a most valuable and important data i didn't want to loose it (It is having 400GB...
chandu1989 Hard Drive Support 5 03-06-2011 09:16 AM
WD my passport external hard drive problems.
I have a western digital my passport external hard drive. Just recently it started to disappear from my computer under the listed drives. When I restart my computer it starts working again for a short period of time, then disappears again. If I plug it into another computer it works on that...
ikarihiokami Hard Drive Support 3 02-17-2011 10:04 AM
KillDisk Help
Hello! I am hoping one of you smart cookies can help me sort out killdisk on my pc. I am trying to wipe (not kill - just wipe!!!!!) my c drive to go over my deleted files. I have installed Killdisk and it wiped one of my other drives fine but when i click on the c drive to wipe it wont let me....
lacegirl Hard Drive Support 1 02-11-2011 06:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts