Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Unallocated space

This is a discussion on Unallocated space within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Recently my hard drive failed. I bought a new 4 TB drive and planned to install Win10 on it but


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2018, 09:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 118
OS: Windows 10



Recently my hard drive failed. I bought a new 4 TB drive and planned to install Win10 on it but first divided it into 3 partitions. Unfortunately, it appears I am a moron and the software I used to partition it was not able to recognize the full 4TB, and before I realized it, I had the 240 GB partition I wanted for Win and only one other partition of about 1.8 TB.

I installed Windows, and the unallocated space of 1.6 TB was visible. I assumed I would be able to use the disk manager to make this into a viable partition, but in disc management if I right click on that space, all the options are grayed out.

I tried two recommended partition utilities without help. One didn't even see this unallocated space, and the other said there was a partition error it could not fix.

I then decided I would re install Win and during installation try to reclaim this space. It lets me work with the other two usable partitions and delete and change them, but if I try to do something with this unallocated space, I get an error message with a string of numbers identifying it.

So, it seems I totally messed up the drive. My question is, is there some way to save it? Is there some other disc utility someone could recommend that would allow me to reclaim this space?

I really don't care about re installing Win again if it would allow me to get this space back.

Thanks.

SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2018, 11:16 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,603
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Try using a UEFI boot and a GPT partition style.

More info here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...artition-style
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 05-06-2018, 03:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 118
OS: Windows 10



Thank you, and having read about GPT I now understand the problem. The problem is that this disc has 3 partitions on it, and one is the Windows OS and according to that KB article, the partitions need to be deleted to make the change. So, there is no way I can delete all the partitions on that drive and then perform a change from MBR to GPT. Is a utility I can use to do this after booting to a CD ROM or USB drive? I can then make this change and reinstall Windows.

Thank you for the information.

SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2018, 07:20 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


All drives over the capacity of 2TB's must initialized as GPT to get the full capacity of the drive.
To convert to GPT, you need a 3rd party partitioning software Like Minitool, Easeus, GParted etc. or you can boot off of the Windows installer, and after choosing your language, press Shift+F10 to get to the Command Prompt.
3- In the RE (recovery environment) choose command prompt and type following commands pressing Enter after each bold command:
i) diskpart
(ie) DISKPART >
ii) list disk
(ie) DISKPART > list disk
It now lists disk by number
you have to select the disk next with
iii) select disk <disk number>
(ie) DISKPART> Select Disk (disk number) = as listed in previous command. The selected disk now has an Asterisk next to it. iv) clean (this erases all data on the Disk, so be sure you choose the correct one)
(ie) DISKPART> clean
v) convert gpt


At this point you can go back to the Windows install, you do not need to create partitions or format them, Windows will do the rest, unless you want to create separate partitions for storage.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-06-2018, 08:11 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 118
OS: Windows 10



thank you. I will try it next weekend.

SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Trying to use unallocated space on SSD
Hello, I am hoping someone can help me. I recently upgraded my laptop with an SSD. The previous HDD was a 640GB drive. The new SSD is 500GB. Before I cloned the drive I created a new partition so I could shrink the C Drive as it was at 500+GB. At the end I had a 300GB C partition and then a...
Morgancaptin Hard Drive Support 11 09-05-2017 04:54 PM
Unknown HDD, Not Initialized (Help)
About 5 days ago my Seagate 3TB Barracuda HDD started running very slow. Transfer speeds dropped to 182kb/s it previously was around 25.6mb/s. So I started backing up as much as I could, but after 5 days and only getting about 300GB backed up I decided to run chkdsk on the drive. That was a bad...
fastrack12003 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 01-25-2016 05:55 PM
Minecraft java crash help please
A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment: # # EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x00007ffeae53c473, pid=1356, tid=1376 # # JRE version: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (8.0_25-b18) (build 1.8.0_25-b18) # Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (25.25-b02...
Blueninja101 PC Gaming Support 11 12-25-2014 06:48 PM
Delete OS Dualboot To Unallocated Space
Hello mate..im new here.....!!I recently got a problem with my computer ...!my (windows vista) did not work properly ...! without the knowledge I have intall windows seven and make dualboot ....!! but I did not create the partition first...! so I installed (windows seven) on drive D..!! after a...
jammyflow135 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 09-13-2013 02:17 AM
Minecraft Java Crash
I have been having this issue with Minecraft for awhile, and I can not figure out how to fix it. I am running 64 bit windows 7, and using the 64-bit java. I have tried uninstalling and re-installing both Java and minecraft. Here is the error file I get every time it crashes. And it normally crashes...
Zeiram PC Gaming Support 2 04-05-2013 02:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts