Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Switching to an SSD

This is a discussion on Switching to an SSD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Currently, have a Lenovo Y500 Laptop and looking to get an SSD due to some hard drive issues. It says


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2017, 12:55 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, US
Posts: 41
OS: Windows 7



Currently, have a Lenovo Y500 Laptop and looking to get an SSD due to some hard drive issues.

It says on most of the spec pages I've looked at that it has the following:
Serial ATA-300

What kind of SSD drives should I look at or will most internal drives meet this specification?
R0bert199O is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2017, 01:15 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, US
Posts: 41
OS: Windows 7



Did not see an edit button:

I'm also unsure what size drive to get for a laptop.
Was looking at the 2.5' drives though.
R0bert199O is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 01:36 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Serial ATA-300
Better known as SATA-300, or SATAII 300Gbps being the speed. SATA-600 or SATAIII 600Gbps is the fastest and is backward compatible with SATA-300 connection on the motherboard of your computer, but it will only transfer data at the slower speed of 300Gbps.
Desktop computers use 3.5" HDD's. Most Laptop computers use 2.5" HDD's,except for newer ones that use an mSATA2 drive, but that is another story.
https://www.cnet.com/products/lenovo...2-40ghz/specs/ Any 2.5" SSD drive should work for you depending on your budget and capacity needs. We suggest Samsung, Crucial, or WD Black among others.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2017, 01:42 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


You mention HD issues but the spec for your unit on the Lenovo site is 1TB 5,400rpm, 16GB SSD. Edit button only works for 2 minutes after posting. It's at the bottom right of your post.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 01:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, US
Posts: 41
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
You mention HD issues but the spec for your unit on the Lenovo site is 1TB 5,400rpm, 16GB SSD. Edit button only works for 2 minutes after posting. It's at the bottom right of your post.
Yes, there are 2 versions of the Y500 though. The one with an i5 only has the 1TB HDD.

The main issue is that the current drive is running at 100% disk usage all the time.
R0bert199O is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 02:09 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, US
Posts: 41
OS: Windows 7



One last question, Does it have to be a SATA II or lower or will say a SATA III work but only at SATA II speeds?
R0bert199O is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 02:26 PM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Spunk answered that in Post 3.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-09-2017, 11:17 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
SATAIII 600Gbps is the fastest and is backward compatible with SATA-300 connection on the motherboard of your computer
It will work but will only transfer data at 300Gbps, not the top speed of 600Gbps, so don't pay extra for SATAIII.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with SSD + HDD combination
Hello, I recently purchased a Crucial MX100 512GB SSD. I planned to run Windows 7 on this SSD, along with certain programs and games of my choice. All my other programs were to stay on my 1TB HDD. After installing the SSD, I looked for suitable cloning software. I wanted something that would...
TheRandomGuy7 Hard Drive Support 27 09-23-2014 06:06 PM
Solid State Drive (SSD) Not Detected After Failed Windows 7 Install
Hello Brain Trust, I recently purchased a Mushkin Chronos Deluxe SSD, 240GB. Upon installing the drive - making sure that my SATA ports were set to AHCI in the BIOS - both the BIOS and the Windows 7 Ultimate setup disk (via bootable USB) recognized the drive. However, just after the...
Thirdeye462 Hard Drive Support 11 01-28-2013 02:25 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts