Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Suggestions for an SSD

This is a discussion on Suggestions for an SSD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Currently using a 120Gb OCZ Arc 100. I couldn't say anything about its performance all I know is my PC


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2018, 11:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Euro_Bucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
OS:



Currently using a 120Gb OCZ Arc 100. I couldn't say anything about its performance all I know is my PC boots faster, games loads quicker and tranfer rates are much better.

But 120Gb sure is not enough. Looking forward upgrading to a higher capacity and found this

Colorful SL500 320Gb

It is priced at $73.00 I mean it's the cheapest I can find. Gonna make the 120Gb as drive for OS and the 320Gb for games.
Would like to hear your thoughts. Thanks !
Euro_Bucks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2018, 04:52 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Right now on newegg.com, they have a WD 500 GB SSD on sale for $99. The reviews for are it very good. Most of the 1 egg reviews have to do with the cloning software and how it doesn't work.

With a new hard drive install I always do and recommend a clean install

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820250087
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 10:02 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I have a few of those Wd 500 gb Ssd drives and they work great. I also picked up a 256 Gb WD M2 for $80 and did my new it 8700K desktop with that and I am super impressed with that as well, so much so I bought another one and upped my i7 7700K desktop with it as well. You know that WD owns San Disk now right? That has to make Ssd drives quite exceptional I am sure.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2018, 10:33 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Damn dude....how many PC's do you have and use................!!!!!!!!!
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 12:01 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I have 8 desktops but 6 are sale stock and two are mine personally and 10 laptops of which I use 1 myself and the rest or for sale.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 06:40 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



If I'm ever in PA, I know where to get a spare laptop :P...

Most game installations love to stick to the Root drive Program files, so use the higher capacity one for the OS, use the other as an External drive (works super fast & don't mess with the partitions, just create a folder and keep storing your data in the C: drive) until you can find some internal purpose for it..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 07:17 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Like Motel 6 "I'll leave the light on"!
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 07:18 AM   #8
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



lol...
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 07:21 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Euro_Bucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
Right now on newegg.com, they have a WD 500 GB SSD on sale for $99. The reviews for are it very good. Most of the 1 egg reviews have to do with the cloning software and how it doesn't work.

With a new hard drive install I always do and recommend a clean install

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820250087

Thats a reasonable price for that capacity. Thanks for the link.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-M View Post
I have a few of those Wd 500 gb Ssd drives and they work great. I also picked up a 256 Gb WD M2 for $80 and did my new it 8700K desktop with that and I am super impressed with that as well, so much so I bought another one and upped my i7 7700K desktop with it as well. You know that WD owns San Disk now right? That has to make Ssd drives quite exceptional I am sure.

Good to hear that. I am from Philippines and that specific SSD is priced at $130 locally. Whereas I could have a lot of option at that price point like Crucial or Samsung.
Euro_Bucks is offline  
Old 07-31-2018, 05:37 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 40
OS: Windows 10 Pro X64 1903 18362.418



I just bought a Samsung EVO 860 500GB SSD from Ebay, new but in open box, for $99 to replace a 4 year old Samsung EVO 850 250GB SSD. Love the new drive and the extra room. I was able to move my Oracle VMs to the SSD where they run quite a bit better.
Ztruker is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 11:46 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 96
OS: macOS, Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Ztruker View Post
I just bought a Samsung EVO 860 500GB SSD from Ebay, new but in open box, for $99 to replace a 4 year old Samsung EVO 850 250GB SSD. Love the new drive and the extra room. I was able to move my Oracle VMs to the SSD where they run quite a bit better.
Sweet purchase.
HulkNotes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
clone external SSD from my personal laptop(1) and install SSD to other laptop(2)
January 5,2018 I made an error when installing win 7 on one of my laptops (which has a SSD), After the installation of win7 I did not have drivers for usb3 and wifi (laptop does not have Cd rom), So I cant install drivers via USB3 or wifi.:facepalm: So only option was to buy a external case...
abhaya213 Hard Drive Support 2 01-05-2018 07:30 AM
[SOLVED] PSU fan spins to max speed when Windows starts with new SSD
Hello! I've been googling and troubleshooting for about 5 hours straight, so I guess it's time to make a post of my own to try and solve this. So I currently have an existing SDD and HDD, recently picked up a second SSD, and now my power supply's fan is loud and obnoxious. I checked all my...
JeY k RAM and Power Supply Support 16 09-01-2017 05:00 AM
Asus UX31E fan problems
My Asus UX31E is driving me mad. Itís not the keyboard or the trackpad Ė as bad as they are! Ė but the fan. At the start it was a nice silent runner but 6 months on the fan is on and off every few minutes, sometimes running for 30 seconds sometimes longer. Itís on more often than itís off. Most...
tlo77 Laptop Support 1 10-07-2012 05:51 AM
CPU Fan error and overheating
Hi everyone, would really appreciate some help on what seems a serious problem that has developed: My computer ran fine for ages. Now, on startup I had an American Megatrends screen, accompanied by a 'beep' and the message 'CPU fan error!' (next line) 'Press F1 to resume'. I pressed F1 - did...
Williamsson Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 09-11-2011 10:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts