Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

SSD upgrade - something went wrong

This is a discussion on SSD upgrade - something went wrong within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to upgrade a HDD to SSD on my HP laptop - model 15-f018DX. Purchased 1Tb Samsung 860EVO


Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By spunk.funk
  • 1 Post By Stancestans
  • 1 Post By Stancestans
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2019, 11:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 25
OS: XP service pack 3



I am trying to upgrade a HDD to SSD on my HP laptop - model 15-f018DX. Purchased 1Tb Samsung 860EVO (model MZ-76E1TO) and the SATA to USB cable. The current hard drive is 750Gb. OS is Win 8.1

  • Used EaseUS Todo to clone my current hard drive. Checked optimize for SSD and Sector by sector clone
  • This resulted in Partition F: (clone of my C: drive), 230-something Gb Unallocated space and Partition A: (clone of my D: drive -- Recovery) on the SSD drive
  • Used EaseUS Partition Master to move the Recovery partition to the end of the SSD drive.
  • Also used Partition Master to create a G: partition of the unallocated space.
  • Then, used Partition Master to merge F: and G: partitions--which I thought/hoped would mean that I would be able to use all the space on the new drive as 1 partition (except for Recovery partition).
  • Disassembled laptop, removed HDD and replaced with SSD drive.
Upon bootup, I got error: Your PC needs to be repaired, Error 0xc0000225.

Press ENTER to try again.

Press F8 for Startup Settings
Press ESC for UEFI Firmware Settings.


ENTER caused screen to blank for a moment and error message to reappear.

F8 did nothing. ESC did nothing.


Removed SSD drive. Reinstalled HDD, and laptop boots without issue. (Actually, seems to boot faster than before, and everything running faster/smoother--which makes no sense to me.)


I suspect that moving/merging partitions is what caused my problem. But perhaps, I needed to change something in the BIOS?



I have only a little tiny bit of knowledge on how to do this, so will be grateful for as many specifics as possible.


Thank you!
Elaine
esmith591 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 01:44 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Start again,l When you clone a HDD, Clone the Whole disk, all the hidden partitions as well as the main Windows partition. Do not swap any partitions around or delete anything on the new SSD. Now put the SSD in where the old HDD was and boot the computer. It should be a mirror copy so it should boot perfectly.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-04-2019, 05:43 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 25
OS: XP service pack 3



Thank you. I will do that. But how do I utilize all the space on the new drive which is larger than the old one? An exact copy, prior to moving partitions, had 231 Gb of unallocated space. Do I have to make that a separate partition once I get the pc to boot from the new drive? Any way to make it part of the main partition?
esmith591 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 06:32 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by esmith591 View Post
Thank you. I will do that. But how do I utilize all the space on the new drive which is larger than the old one? An exact copy, prior to moving partitions, had 231 Gb of unallocated space. Do I have to make that a separate partition once I get the pc to boot from the new drive? Any way to make it part of the main partition?
Let's cross that bridge when we get to it. First, do a 1:1 clone as directed and get Windows booting from the SSD. I strongly advice against doing a sector by sector copy, uncheck that option, but leave the optimize for SSD option enabled.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 06:54 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 25
OS: XP service pack 3



Thank you. I will do that and report back in several hours. :-)
esmith591 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 12:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 25
OS: XP service pack 3



Success! Had one false start when I attempted to reclone (an error message about being unable to read a sector). I tried again, and it successfully completed. Swapped out the HDD for the SSD, and the laptop booted right up.



Very grateful to be back in business! Remaining question: Can you suggest any steps to allow me to use the total space on the SSD? Current picture when I run diskmgmt.msc is:

650 MB - Healthy (Recovery Partition)
260 MB - Healthy (EFI System Partition)
676.58 GB NTFS - Windows C: Healthy (Boot, Page File, Crash Dump, Primary Partition)
21.04 GB NTFS - Recover D: Healthy (Primary Partition)
232.88 GB - Unallocated


Is there any way to get that 232.88 GB added to the C: partition, or will I have to partition it as a separate drive letter?


FYI, reminder--I have EaseUS Partition Master, if needed.

Thank you!!
esmith591 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 08:05 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


please attach a screenshot of Easeus or Disk Management with the drive showing.
If you did it correctly, Easeus should have recognized you had a larger drive and should have made adjustments to fill the rest of the drive out with no Unallocated Space.
esmith591 likes this.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-05-2019, 01:02 AM   #8
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by esmith591 View Post
Success! Had one false start when I attempted to reclone (an error message about being unable to read a sector). I tried again, and it successfully completed. Swapped out the HDD for the SSD, and the laptop booted right up.



Very grateful to be back in business! Remaining question: Can you suggest any steps to allow me to use the total space on the SSD? Current picture when I run diskmgmt.msc is:

650 MB - Healthy (Recovery Partition)
260 MB - Healthy (EFI System Partition)
676.58 GB NTFS - Windows C: Healthy (Boot, Page File, Crash Dump, Primary Partition)
21.04 GB NTFS - Recover D: Healthy (Primary Partition)
232.88 GB - Unallocated

Is there any way to get that 232.88 GB added to the C: partition, or will I have to partition it as a separate drive letter?

FYI, reminder--I have EaseUS Partition Master, if needed.

Thank you!!
Using EASEUS Partition Master, drag/move partition D (Recovery) to the farthest end of the drive. This will place the unallocated space between drive C (Windows) and drive D. Apply the changes, reboot If prompted to do so. With the unallocated space now immediately adjacent to drive C, you can resize drive C in Partition Master by dragging its left boundary until it takes up all of the unallocated space. Apply the changes and reboot IF required.
esmith591 likes this.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 04-05-2019, 04:07 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 25
OS: XP service pack 3



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Using EASEUS Partition Master, drag/move partition D (Recovery) to the farthest end of the drive. This will place the unallocated space between drive C (Windows) and drive D. Apply the changes, reboot If prompted to do so. With the unallocated space now immediately adjacent to drive C, you can resize drive C in Partition Master by dragging its left boundary until it takes up all of the unallocated space. Apply the changes and reboot IF required.

Thank you! That appears to have been successful. I am grateful for the help! And a little reassured to know that I had originally done the right steps, but should have done them separately, one at a time. I am putting up a sign in my office: Thou Shalt Not Be Impatient!


So generous of you all to share your expertise with bumblers like me. Many thanks!!!!
esmith591 is offline  
Old 04-05-2019, 04:12 AM   #10
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by esmith591 View Post
Thank you! That appears to have been successful. I am grateful for the help! And a little reassured to know that I had originally done the right steps, but should have done them separately, one at a time. I am putting up a sign in my office: Thou Shalt Not Be Impatient!


So generous of you all to share your expertise with bumblers like me. Many thanks!!!!
You are most welcome. I'm glad we could help.
esmith591 likes this.
Stancestans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] SLOW boot after ssd upgrade
Hi Guys, I decided to be nice to my girlfriend and upgrade her 2013 macbook pro.. running 10.9.2 (this is the first mac that i have ever touched.. windows and linux user) I upgraded it with 8gb Samsung ram 500gb Samsung 850 pro ssd (old hdd was 500gb also) Both, I thought were...
AMT1989 Mac Support 3 08-09-2016 02:08 AM
PATA SSD in Powerbook G4 PPC, Mac OS X 10.5.8.
Howdy folks and thanks for reading. Just wanted to post a summary of my successful mission to install an SSD in my ancient Apple Macintosh Powerbook G4. - Apple Macintosh Powerbook G4 15 inch, 1.25 GHz PPC, 2GB RAM, Panasonic UJ-85JS as superdrive upgrade, aluminum case. - Mac OS X 10.5.8...
geishaslave Hard Drive Support 7 01-02-2013 11:31 AM
[SOLVED] Crontab is not liking upgrade
I have crontab run a script daily and edit that script to my needs. # ! The Daily jobs that will be ran from crontab. ##Daily update apt-get update; apt-get upgrade -y; Issue is that there is always an error when running from cron.
Xeneth Linux Support 12 11-25-2012 04:43 PM
Upgrade gone wrong
So yesterday i was attempting to upgrade my windows 7 home edition to professional for my laptop, and the update did work (sort of), except i appear to have lost the drivers for my wireless connection, and thus cannot connect to the internet. Is there any way to undo the upgrade, or get the drivers...
eaglehound Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 3 08-31-2012 10:07 AM
Hard Drive Upgrade Advice (SSD or RAID?)
I'm familiar with building PCs but I've been out of the loop a couple years. Right now I'm planning an upgrade from xp to Windows 7. Here's my specs: CPU: Core 2 6600 (2.4Ghz) Mem: 3.5 GB Mainboard: GA-965P-S3 - GIGABYTE SATAII CONTROLLER Hard Drive: WD Caviar SE16 SATA...
petepc Hard Drive Support 2 02-21-2010 07:28 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts