Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

SSD Upgrade

This is a discussion on SSD Upgrade within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. It's been a while since I've built a machine. My current one is good but I want to upgrade to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2019, 06:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
OS: xp pro



It's been a while since I've built a machine. My current one is good but I want to upgrade to an SSD. Can someone help me with the easiest steps? I want to clone my existing HD? I'm not sure where to start without having to reinstall EVERYTHING..... Windows 10. Thanks in advance!
foldbak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2019, 01:05 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


First off, how large is the Used capacity on your current C: drive?
Next, what is your budget?
These two questions will guide your SSD purchase. If your current used space on the C: drive is under 500 GB or even under 256GB then you can get an SSD of that size. If your current C: drive is much larger and money is no object, then you can get an SSD up to 4TB. Or something more modestly priced at 1TB. You can also get a smaller SSD drive if you move your User Files to a different drive before you clone the C: drive
Once you get your new SSD. place it in the computer and your current C: drive, many SSD drives come with a free version of Acronis cloning software or download Macrium Reflect or any other Cloning program. After installing the software choose to make bootable USB Recovery Flash Drive from the cloning program.
Boot off of the Flash Drive and choose to clone your current C: drive on the mechanical drive (the source drive) to the SSD (the Target or Destination drive) After it's complete, make sure the SSD is the First Boot Device in the Bios and it should boot from it. Once everything is working great and you feel comfortable, you can Format the mechanical HDD and use it for Data Backups. You can also, boot off of the clone program USB Drive and choose to make an Image file of your current setup and save it to the mechanical drive as a clone backup in case of a disaster.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-14-2019, 07:55 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
OS: xp pro



I have a 1TS HD currently and intend on installing a 1TB SSD. I'm only using about about 1/3 of its capacity. I would like to boot off the SSD as well as use it for primary storage. The HD will be for back up storage, pictures music etc.

I'd like to keep the cost around $100.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	2
Size:	24.8 KB
ID:	323174  
foldbak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2019, 09:27 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by foldbak View Post
I have a 1TS HD currently and intend on installing a 1TB SSD. I'm only using about about 1/3 of its capacity. I would like to boot off the SSD as well as use it for primary storage. The HD will be for back up storage, pictures music etc.

I'd like to keep the cost around $100.
$100 is cutting it quite close for a 1TB SSD. You might get some lesser-known brands at close to that price, but reliability and after-sale support is a major concern. If you could squeeze in some more $$, say $20, you can get proven brands like WD and SanDisk. Here's a listing on Amazon for possible options.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:59 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


As stated, SSD's have come down in price, but you will be hard pressed to find a name brand 1TB SSD for that price. Plan on spending at least $120 https://www.amazon.com/s?k=1tb+ssd+i...nb_sb_ss_i_1_8
If you are only using 1/3 of your current 1TB HDD then consider getting a 512GB SSD and keep your User files on the secondary Mechanical drive.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help- PC On BootLoop. Fix Upgrade or Buy New?
Hi all my pc stoped working. when i start it, it go to a bootloop with a black screen(with nothing on it). working for 4-5sec and then restart itself. this goes on and on. also no beep sounds ever. tried the following: tried to remove/clean/replace slots of the ram. tried to set my old...
dark_elf Hard Drive Support 9 06-30-2018 07:15 PM
Problems with SSD + HDD combination
Hello, I recently purchased a Crucial MX100 512GB SSD. I planned to run Windows 7 on this SSD, along with certain programs and games of my choice. All my other programs were to stay on my 1TB HDD. After installing the SSD, I looked for suitable cloning software. I wanted something that would...
TheRandomGuy7 Hard Drive Support 27 09-23-2014 06:06 PM
Post 8 to 8.1 Upgrade - EFS Encrypted folders Access Denied
This Windows 8.1 upgrade was titled an 'Upgrade' - I assumed it would be like a Service Pack or such - maintaining original OS settings - WRONG. All of my previously Windows EFS encrypted folders and files (showing green per show encrypted folders green checkbox in Explorer) now show 'Access...
MNGuy248 Windows 8, 8.1 Support 0 11-16-2013 03:45 PM
Upgrade OS - HDD to SSD
Not sure if this is in the correct section... Was considering upgrading to a SSD from a HDD. Is there a way to move the current OS that is on the HDD to the SSD? I assume there is. I only want to move the OS and nothing else as I have installed other programs/games etc to my current HDD. Is it...
rmartz20 Hard Drive Support 3 01-06-2012 02:22 PM
Activation scenario across two computers due to computer upgrade
Tied contacting MS support but apparently: Wee!!! And I couldn't find a product ID for the new OEM license I purchased. PC1: Built PC myself. 1HDD: Had WinXP on it. Used XP for many years. Purchased Win 7 Pro upgrade and new HDD.
FireWynd Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 6 12-09-2011 06:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts