Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

SSD Speed Test Results

This is a discussion on SSD Speed Test Results within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Looking for feedback on the following attached SSD speed test results. Attached is also the type of SSD installed and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2019, 08:11 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

My System


Looking for feedback on the following attached SSD speed test results. Attached is also the type of SSD installed and advertised read & write speeds. I know the advertised speeds are not real world numbers but they are used for comparison between drives when shopping around. SSD is running on an HP EliteBook 8460p with an Intel Cote i5 2.5GHz and 8GB of Dual Channel DDR3 RAM. Laptop is being used by wife for online school and web browsing/email. Original drive was a 250GB Western Digital HDD.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SSD Speed Test Results.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	324666   Click image for larger version

Name:	SSD Specs.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	324668  
Techie19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2019, 09:51 PM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro



I can't make out the brand of the SSD. The bench test looks to be about par.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 11:53 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
I can't make out the brand of the SSD. The bench test looks to be about par.
Brand is Inland Professional, sold by www.microcenter.com

https://www.microcenter.com/product/...te-drive-(240g)
Techie19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2019, 05:25 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Any other concerns?
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 11-04-2019, 07:34 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
Any other concerns?
No other concerns. Was just looking for input on the speed results I received from the benchmark using this program.
Techie19 is offline  
Old 11-04-2019, 08:14 PM   #6
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Yeah...it's not bad for a no name brand.

If you want a real edge on a SSD...go Samsung and then use it's "Rapid Mode". To utilize Rapid Mode you'll need at least 16 GB RAM. It will take 4GB of it. So that will leave your system will enough RAM to do what it needs to.

With rapid mode you'll jump from 540/500 to 3400/3000 in speed.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 11-04-2019, 08:41 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
Yeah...it's not bad for a no name brand.

If you want a real edge on a SSD...go Samsung and then use it's "Rapid Mode". To utilize Rapid Mode you'll need at least 16 GB RAM. It will take 4GB of it. So that will leave your system will enough RAM to do what it needs to.

With rapid mode you'll jump from 540/500 to 3400/3000 in speed.
I don’t think they’re a no name brand, just not as known as Sandisk, Samsung, Seagate, Western Digital, etc... MicroCenter has been selling them for a while and they have great reviews. I guess time will tell if they are as reliable.

When checking with Speccy, for some reason when looking at the SSD, it shows up as Seagate. Kinda confused about that.

3400/3000 speeds? That’s like NVMe speeds.
Techie19 is offline  
Old 11-05-2019, 02:45 AM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Quote:
When checking with Speccy, for some reason when looking at the SSD, it shows up as Seagate. Kinda confused about that.
It might be a sister company or a acquisition.

Quote:
3400/3000 speeds? That’s like NVMe speeds.
Exactly....

I bought a WD Blue 500 GB SSD because of cost. it was almost half the price of the Samsung....at that time.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 11-06-2019, 11:09 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
Yeah...it's not bad for a no name brand.

If you want a real edge on a SSD...go Samsung and then use it's "Rapid Mode". To utilize Rapid Mode you'll need at least 16 GB RAM. It will take 4GB of it. So that will leave your system will enough RAM to do what it needs to.

With rapid mode you'll jump from 540/500 to 3400/3000 in speed.

Sir, I just notice. You can have 3400 MB/s speed on a regular SATA SSD? I thought it will bottleneck the interface which is SATA 6Gbps speed. I only see 3000+ MB/s speed on NVMe using the PCI-E X4 Interface, likewise of the Optane.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 05:41 AM   #10
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,314
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Quote:
I thought it will bottleneck the interface which is SATA 6Gbps speed.
How....my reference was with Samsung SSD's and Rapid Mode. Read the article......
https://www.windowscentral.com/samsung-ssd-rapid-mode

Intel Optane does the same thing for non Samsung SSD's
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...echnology.html
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 03:00 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

I see. Somewhat the same with the Optane, which will use your resources. I thought it will natively increase the performance of the drive itself.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 03:31 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



Is this the proper link for the utility? I've never tried it.

https://crystalmark.info/en/download/
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 11-07-2019, 04:48 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confounded Also View Post
Is this the proper link for the utility? I've never tried it.

https://crystalmark.info/en/download/

Yes.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 11-10-2019, 08:54 AM   #14
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfisher6522 View Post
To utilize Rapid Mode you'll need at least 16 GB RAM. It will take 4GB of it.
Not really. 2GB is the minimum requirement. Of course, it goes without saying, the more memory you have, the bigger the ram disk that Samsung's SSD software can use and the more data it can cache in the ram disk. Either way, you will experience speed improvements when re-accessing data that is frequently accessed, because that is what get's intelligently cached when Rapid Mode is enabled.
Stancestans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts