Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

[SSD] Kingston UV400 120GB = No Temp. to Show

This is a discussion on [SSD] Kingston UV400 120GB = No Temp. to Show within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Good day! I just want to ask, if this SSD supports temp. monitoring? Because, whenever I open disk management apps


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Lead3
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2018, 10:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Good day!

I just want to ask, if this SSD supports temp. monitoring? Because, whenever I open disk management apps (CyrstalDisk, KSM, HDTune), the temp. is constant (40C). I used this drive for 4 months now, ever since, it does not display current temperature, even if I mounted it closer to the intake fans. Ambient temp. is 30C.
xtechnouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2018, 10:52 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Try HWiNFO (64 or 32, I use the sensors only option) or the Hard Disk Sentinel trial version (and check whether Trim is active).

www.hwinfo.com
www.hdsentinel.com

One of my SSDs, a Plextor mSATA, doesn't have a temp. sensor. Some makers might use a non-standard SMART# for temp. readings.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 11:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Thenk you for your reply sir. Still, on HWi and HDSentinel, the S.M.A.R.T. data on temperature is constant on 40C.
xtechnouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2018, 11:40 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


No min/max temps showing up? How about the temps on any nearby components, are they relatively static?
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 02:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

The Min. is 40C, the Max. is also 40C sir. The temps on other components were just fine, like my HDD, showing 32C, dropped to 30C.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 03:34 AM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Hmm, a 2 degree variation on a secondary HDD, assuming it's close by and in similar airflow, isn't huge though it probably has little work to do cf. the System SSD. If no historic/lifetime temp. variation is logged by SMART/shown by HDS, it's looking like the sensor isn't working (fake?), or that Kingston's SMART 'temp.' readout has been set for *some other* measurement - puzzling, I was under the impression temps were a 'fixed' SMART code#, not an OEM (read changeable) one.

Does HDS show the Trim as Active?

Kingston's SMART .pdf shows temps as being their SMART #194 and indicating Current and historic Min/Max should be available, same # as the Crucial SSDs and 5x makes of 2.5" HDDs here (My Samsung SSDs use #190, so it looks like an OEM/variable# for SSDs and you may need to convert from the RAW/Hex data).

HDS should show raw data for #194, can you check and convert/reply with them?



























.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 05:59 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Ever since I've purchased the drive, the temperature never changed.



According to HDS:

1,Read Error Rate,50,100,100,OK,000000000000,0,Enabled
5,Reallocated Sectors Count,50,100,100,OK,000000000000,0,Enabled
9,Power On Time Count,50,100,100,OK,0000000000E8,0,Enabled
12,Power Cycle Count,50,100,100,OK,000000000264,0,Enabled
160,Uncorrectable Sectors Count (Read/Write),50,100,100,OK,000000000000,0,Enabled
161,Number of Valid Spare Blocks,50,100,100,OK,00000000006F,0,Enabled
162,Number of Cache Data Block,50,100,100,OK,000000000001,0,Enabled
163,Number of Initial Invalid Blocks,50,100,100,OK,00000000000A,0,Enabled
164,Total Erase Count,50,100,100,OK,00000000D909,0,Enabled
165,Maximum Erase Count,50,100,100,OK,000000000044,0,Enabled
166,Minimum Erase Count,50,100,100,OK,000000000012,0,Enabled
167,Average Erase Count,50,100,100,OK,000000000036,0,Enabled
168,Max Erase Count of Spec,50,100,100,OK,000000000BB8,0,Enabled
169,Remain Life Percentage,50,99,99,OK,000000000063,0,Enabled
192,Power-off Retract Count,50,100,100,OK,00000000003D,0,Enabled
194,Controlled Temperature,50,100,100,OK,000000000028,0,Enabled
195,Hardware ECC Recovered,50,100,100,OK,000000000031,0,Enabled
196,Reallocation Event Count,50,100,100,OK,000000000000,0,Enabled
241,Total Data Written (32MB),50,100,100,OK,000000019771,0,Enabled
242,Total Data Read (32MB),50,100,100,OK,00000002A772,0,Enabled
245,Total Flash Write Count (32MB),50,100,100,OK,000000029353,0,Enabled
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 06:41 AM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Then it looks like it's a 'fake' sensor, which makes no sense to me, or that the sensor is 'stuck' or otherwise defective.

Assuming you're in the Northern Hemisphere, I'd expect no less than a 5 degree C swing during the previous four months if used during exactly the same time period in every session, variations in the time range should increase that difference. Even when used in an air-conditioned room - start up temps and 'heavy' usage temps should always indicate some difference in each session.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 09:05 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

The four straight months, temperature never changed otherwise. Still, at 40C. Even my System Temp. is ~32C / CPU Temp. 29-30C on Air conditioned Room.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 09:44 AM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


All I can suggest is to contact Kingston's Support and find out if it's faulty and/or whether they would replace it.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 09:51 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,054
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86

My System


They may not have provided a temp sensor. OCZ SSD drives did not have one and the temps were set to 30C for SMART.
satrow likes this.
Lead3 is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 09:18 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

I already contacted Kingston Support, and they give me details like I have a stable computer airflow which is the reason why I get that stable 40C and that 40C is normal for it performs higher than HDD, as long it is on its working temperature range.

I don't think this makes sense at all. Should I consider a faulty temperature sensor, by the way?
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 06:32 AM   #13
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Does this model have a working sensor (or standard temp based on best guess) ?

If there is no sensor provided in the model, no point troubleshooting around it however if there is a sensor, then you need to confirm if the sensor is indeed not working ?

Best method, take the SSD out, keep it in a zip lock bag, make sure the A/C vent blows directly on it, ( I would have recommended the freezer, but if you mess it up, then you have a brick) this should cool the hard drive overnight, fix it back, start the computer up and immediately capture the readings of the temperature, any difference ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 07-30-2018, 08:26 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

I will definitely try it sir.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 08-02-2018, 06:44 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 831
OS: Win98SE



I would search for a review or teardown of your SSD. Look for detailed photos of both sides of the PCB. FWIW, the 480GB version of the UV400 has a small, 6-pin "T730" temperature sensor IC at the front of the PCB. To me this seems strange because the flash controller and NAND array would be the biggest heat sources. Many SSDs locate the sensor at the centre of the NAND flash array.
fzabkar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingston UV400 120GB SSD @ 99% Health
Hello TSF! I just want to ask, is this normal? I just bought an SSD (Kingston UV400 120GB) last January, 2018. I use it as the Primary Drive (OS and MSI RAMDisk) with a HDD as Secondary Drive (Storage). According to Hard Disk Sentinel 5.20 Pro: SSD Health: 99% Power On Time: 7 Days, 2...
xtechnouser Hard Drive Support 8 05-30-2018 06:16 AM
[SOLVED] After pressing some key combo, I boot into emergency mode
I use Fedora 20. After pressing ctrl-alt-some function key, I entered emergency mode. Now every time I boot my computer, I enter emergency mode before I enter the normal OS. When I enter the normal OS there are no problems. How do I disable the auto-boot into emergency mode?
jengelhart Linux Support 26 07-25-2014 04:12 PM
Kingston Data Traveller = no show
Greetings; This critter suddenly is not showing up when I plug it into my computer. My Sandisk, & Silicon Plus show up just fine, so do my SDHC cards, off board HD, & MP3's. Just this beastie isn't even identified as being plugged in. It's if have not put anything there. I have some important...
obeyone Other Hardware Support 4 07-16-2011 06:25 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts