Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Transferring files from old HD

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Transferring files from old HD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Setting up a new computer and looking to transfer some stuff from an old HD onto the new one once


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 06:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 7

My System


Setting up a new computer and looking to transfer some stuff from an old HD onto the new one once I get windows installed.

Question is, is there anyway to connect the drive (which is now C:\) without formatting it?
Xolias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2011, 06:03 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



need clarification - are you trying to install it as a slave drive? or connecting it using a usb external case? what type of files are you trying to move? what operating system?
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 06:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 7

My System


I want to install it as a Slave drive on Windows 7, it's the current master on my old computer. Internal, Sata cable, just trying to move over data, but the HDD has vista installed on it.
Xolias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2011, 06:18 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



if it is properly connected, you should be able to just drag the files over. If the new computer does not see the drive, try going into disk management and assign a drive letter to it. You also may need to take ownership of the files you move to the new computer.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 06:21 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 7

My System


How would I go about setting the drive to slave?
Xolias is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 07:51 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 7

My System


Nevermind figured it all out.
Xolias is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please4 Help!! Google redirects!
Hello, I have had this problem for a few days now, every link i click on in google redirects me to some other page that looks like it could contain viruses itself. I have Mcafee and spybot, i have also run ccleaner just to clean up things. But nothing has eliminated the problem! Spybot...
jess7aylor Inactive Malware Help Topics 3 05-25-2011 08:33 AM
Computer infected with malware
. DDS (Ver_11-03-05.01) - NTFS_AMD64 Run by Lim Shu Teng at 11:59:09.28 on Sun 01/05/2011 Internet Explorer: 8.0.7600.16385 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_24 Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 6.1.7600.0.1252.60.1033.18.1956.732 . AV: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware *Disabled/Updated*...
legenderycity Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 05-15-2011 08:11 AM
Startup time from 75 seconds to 165 seconds. What is wrong?
Hello forum. I have a month-old Dell Inspiron N7010 Core i5 460M with 6 gigs of ram running on Windows 7. Until recently, it has been starting up in about 75 seconds. However, out of nowhere, it suddenly began starting up in between 2 and a half minutes to 3 minutes. I am completely baffled,...
SimTmiCro Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 6 05-10-2011 09:01 AM
[SOLVED] File/Folder Issues
So last night my computer had some virus or something called "Windows Fix Disk" which deleted all of my files and folders or maybe it hid them I am not sure. I used a systemrestore from about 2-3 days ago. Now I am having issues with folders/files. All of my favorites do not show up In my...
jts1992 Resolved HJT Threads 17 04-17-2011 08:44 PM
Browser Malware. (Repost)
Hi, i know this is a common problem, but my internet browser, firefox, keeps opening random tabs and searching items, then pulling up dangerous pages. I know this must be a virus which is a pain the ***. DDS (Ver_10-12-12.02) - NTFS_AMD64 Run by Tesseract at 11:44:59.90 on 03/01/2011...
Liam9588 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 2 01-20-2011 12:37 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts