Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Installing a 2nd HD on sata

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Installing a 2nd HD on sata within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello there, i have just bought a new comp and went to install a second hard drive. Not a hard


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2007, 01:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
skunknste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 93
OS: Win 7 64

My System

Confused

Hello there, i have just bought a new comp and went to install a second hard drive. Not a hard job i thought. So i opened my pc case and found it was completely different to my last pc. I think its called a sata hard drive. so how do i plug in my old ide cable type hard drive in as a slave. I have looked at the mobo and it only has 1 ide connector thing, which is used by my dvd drive

anybody have any ideas?
skunknste is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2007, 02:10 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
skunknste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 93
OS: Win 7 64

My System


my mobo is an asus P5B, if that helps
skunknste is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 03:09 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,683
OS:



Hi, you must install it as Slave on the same Cable as the DVD.
DVD as Master and Ide Hard Drive as Slave, remember to set the jumpers on both the dvd and hdd properly.
Houndog777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2007, 03:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
skunknste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 93
OS: Win 7 64

My System


hmmm, iv just bin reading that hard drives on the same cable as a dvd or cd drive are short lived, what do u think. is there no other way
skunknste is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
skunknste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 93
OS: Win 7 64

My System


***** it ill give it a bash

cheers
skunknste is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:49 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
skunknste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 93
OS: Win 7 64

My System


hey, it censored the f word, even when spelt with a ph instead of an f.
skunknste is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:54 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,240
OS:



You can get an IDE to SATA adapter for the hard drive and plug it into a SATA port.
PanamaGal is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:17 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
skunknste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 93
OS: Win 7 64

My System


well im going out anyway, so i might just pick up one if there nice and cheap. what would you do panamagal. install it on the cable with the dvd or get one of those adapters.

thanks for the reply
skunknste is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:44 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,240
OS:



My experiences with hard drives on the same channel as optical drives have not been all that great. I've just seen some wierd stuff happen. I'd go with the adapter if it were me. They are pretty cheap.
PanamaGal is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:45 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
skunknste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 93
OS: Win 7 64

My System


ill do that then

Cheers
skunknste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble Installing XP on SATA, reboot issue
Soyo KT600 Dragon Plus with Award BIOS update 2ba3 Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3808110AS (80gb SATA) After multiple hard drive failures, I finally bought a good drive. Got a Seagate 80gb SATA hard drive last night, changed the settings to my bios to boot from SATA, used F6 during Windows XP...
galo913 Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 4 08-14-2006 12:43 AM
Help with installing a new SATA hard drive
ok, so i've brought this new hard drive that is 250GB and is a SATA (don't know if it is SATA1 or SATA2). i plug it into my mother board, but when i start windows XP i cannot see the hard drive! i can see it in the device manager saying: ST312002 4AS SCSI Disk Device and it reports that the hard...
thinsitu Hard Drive Support 4 04-21-2006 07:28 AM
How to add 2nd hard disk (IDE) with first SATA hard disk
I have a XP system with nForce4 mainboard. The original hard disk is SATA made by Hitachi. I want to add a 2nd hard disk (IDE) to the system. However, after I add it on, the XP can not boot up. BIOS can recognize it. But the XP does not. It does not matter how I set the 2nd disk to...
XTTX Windows XP Support 2 01-28-2006 07:40 PM
Xp Install Not Recognize Sata
XP INSTALL NOT RECOGNIZE SATA IDEAS DESPERATELY NEEDED (YEA I TRIED and TRIED and TRIED F6 & F6 & F6 ) GOAL Have SR2 install recognize SATA, Then install or repair SATA at SR2
SATAidiot Windows XP Support 6 03-28-2005 04:38 PM
P4P800 E Deluxe + Hitachi 250 SATA on SATA 1 (non raid) Clunking Noise
Hi everyone, got myself a new p4p800e deluxe along with a hitach 250gb sata. As most of you know, the p4p800e deluxe has a total of 4 sata ports, SATA 1 (raid) SATA 2 (raid) SATA 1 (nonraid) SATA 2 (non raid) Anyways, as i only had 1 SATA drive, i went ahead and plugged it on SATA 1...
jpo245 Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 0 01-09-2005 10:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts