Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Does a SATA hard drive use the same power source as an IDE?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Does a SATA hard drive use the same power source as an IDE? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm slowly upgrading my compter, and I just bought a 160GB SATA-II Western Digital Caviar hard drive as my first


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2007, 10:15 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
OS:



I'm slowly upgrading my compter, and I just bought a 160GB SATA-II Western Digital Caviar hard drive as my first upgrade. My motherboard does not support SATA as it is quite old so I bought a SATA to IDE converter pack...

https://tinyurl.com/2sjygo

...so I can use the hard-drive for now on my old mainboard but when I get a new main board I can just remove the IDE converter thing and that's that, but I'm a bit confused...

The converter pack came with an IDE plug PCB with two connections on the other side of the PCB: a SATA port for a SATA cable and a smaller 4-pin plug. The pack also included a SATA cable and another small cable (see the auction page) which goes into the 4-pin port on the converter PCB and the other end of the cable looks like the usual power plug for CD drives and hard-drives etc. except it only has 2 actual pins in it. and two small cables coming from it (again, see the auction picture). So the IDE 40-pin plug goes into my mainboard, and the SATA cable into the hard-drive, but what do you reckon the other smaller cable is for? Can't I just use the normal power-connector coming from my PSU?

Sorry for the long and possibly confusing explanation, but if anyone could help I'd be realy grateful.
axemblack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2007, 11:57 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 12,283
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


depending upon what SATA drive you buy you might get one with a power connector similar to your old IDE power connector .. but you may also find that it only has a larger version of the SATA to motherboard connector .. both drives have this connector but some still cater for the old IDE power connector

if you don't have a SATA with the old connector there are adapters available to make the conversion ..
a lot of power supplies are now coming equipped with SATA power connectors too .. some just supply an adapter
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES


HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner



How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 12:11 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
kodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 8,701
OS: Windows 7-Ultimate 64 Bit

My System


With that kit you plug the card into your IDE port an the motherboard, the red data lead goes from the card to the hardrive and the power cable goes from the card to one of the molex connections that you would normally use on cd's and hardrives etc
__________________
Brian
kodi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2007, 01:04 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
OS:



I got a Western Digital 160GB SATA-II hard-drive but it hasn't arrived yet.

I did a bit of researching and WD hard-drives typically have a SATA power connector as well as the old-style molex connector (like this: https://www.mysuperpc.com/build/sata_...rs_jumpers.jpg), but will using the older-style molex power connector effect the hard drive's performance in any way? Ie. is there any advantage to using the SATA power connector?
axemblack is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 01:11 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
kodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 8,701
OS: Windows 7-Ultimate 64 Bit

My System


Just use the molex. There is no advantage in using the SATA power connection
__________________
Brian
kodi is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 01:15 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
OS:



excellent. Thanks for your help guys.
axemblack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5ad2 delux: SATA RAID prevents IDE hard drive to detect ?
Hello! Problem: with Asus P5AD2 Delux motherboard I have one Asus DVD ROM jumpered to master and one Asus DVD RW jumpered to slave and I attached them to primary IDE slot (blue colored). They are detected and fully operational, I can boot from DVD. I have two S-ATA samsung hard drives (160 GB...
saist Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 2 03-24-2008 08:46 PM
Re: PC #2
Here is the file from the other PC. I am working on the other one and should have those posts to you soon. ********************************** ***** Main.txt Deckard's System Scanner v20070318.32 Run by molly on 2007-03-24 at 08:23:35 Computer is in Normal Mode....
cul8rman Inactive Malware Help Topics 12 06-01-2007 04:53 AM
Thread disappeared
There was a thread in the hard drive forum about backing up the hard drive. It was very useful and I had asked a question in there. But it appears to have gone. I think it was a sticky. The address was https://www.techsupportforum.com/showthread.php?t=93846&page=2 Where has it gone?
18seconds Comments & Announcements 10 08-17-2006 02:28 PM
Something slowing down my internet connection
My computer has been running real slow for about a week now, so I called my service provider to figure out the problem. After 10 minutes of not getting anywhere he had me type in nestat -a at the cmd prompt to see how many ports it was listing. I told him it listed 32 of them and he said that's to...
zaboe Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-15-2006 05:34 PM
P4C800E-Dlx SATA?RAID?IDE?Intel?Promise?Efficient partition organization;Basic stuff?
Hi, I've arrived at this forum, & it seems like shangri-la, about a week after exhausting the MS knowledgebase & Asus website, becoming increasingly confused trying to figure out the best way to arrange my drives; going on the level of the correspondence I've witnessed on this site I'd have to...
Aconitine Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 0 05-06-2005 09:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts