Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Slave hardrive Not Detected

This is a discussion on Slave hardrive Not Detected within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Here we go.... I recently added an 80gb hardrive to add on to my existing 40gb of space. The cables


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2005, 04:28 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



Here we go....

I recently added an 80gb hardrive to add on to my existing 40gb of space. The cables are in correctly and all seemed to be ok. But when I start my computer, even though the HD is found in bios, when I get in to 'Windows' and 'My Computer' The drive is not there. I am running 98 if that helps.

Please help me....
spork44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2005, 06:33 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,950
OS:


you may need to check the following

BIOS
cables
pins
jumpers

and if the HDD came with a CD make sure you Change the Drive Letter Allocations.

you comp may still only be seeing A:\, C:\, and D:, for the CDROM
norin is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 10:28 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 66
OS:


Did you format the drive using fdisk?

New hard drives need to be formatted before they can be recognised by Windows.

Ross
KaTaLy5t is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2005, 11:56 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 344
OS:



Quote:
Did you format the drive using fdisk?
New hard drives need to be formatted before they can be recognised by Windows.
That's wrong, right ? I mean my gut wants to bellow "WRONG!!" but I might be wrong. Am I wrong ? Or right ? That's wrong, isn't it. That you have to use FDisk and format new drives to get them recognized by Windows.

I've never done that, and my new HD's get recognized all the time.

So it's wrong. Right ?
Billy Brethren is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:39 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
OS:


nope. windows 98 will show ur drive in "my computer" only if it is FAT formatted or NTFS if u installed the drivers for NTFS or at least has a some sort of DOS paritition defined. so run paritition magic select ur new drive and create a FAT32 paritition and ur done. U can create a paritition with fdisk aswell and format the drive in windows with right click on the drive icon -> format...
gl.
mugsi is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:07 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,950
OS:


win98 can see NTFS?
norin is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 11:22 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
OS:


@norin
check this
https://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/fr...tfswin98.shtml
or this
https://www.purenetworking.net/Produc.../NTFSfor98.htm

there are many more :]
mugsi is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:36 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,950
OS:


::slaps forehead::

Gahh... yea... technology these days... moving soo fast... *WHOOOSH* what tha..... didja see that... there it goes again... weeeee
norin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts