Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Seagate Barracuda burnt circuit board

This is a discussion on Seagate Barracuda burnt circuit board within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I too have discovered that my FreeAgent external hard drive circuit board has had a meltdown. It is exactly like

Closed Thread

Old 12-27-2017, 02:00 PM   #1
Registered Member

I too have discovered that my FreeAgent external hard drive circuit board has had a meltdown. It is exactly like the one Jake77 wrote about at

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ix-533547.html

And his cure.

Mine I believe was caused by a broken off tab on the GoFlex Desk adapter power supply.
I had bought a USB to SATA adapter to try to get it to work, then I found this site and the cure.
My question is, can anyone here help me out with this ? I am no electronic engineer. Or at least some advise on where to take it to be repaired.

Thanks, Mitch
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-27-2017, 06:49 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus

My System

Here is a good site to start with. https://www.hddzone.com/ Read the FAQ's and the PCB Swap guide.
You cannot just buy any PCB, it not only has to be the same model# but the same firmware too. For a little more money you can send it off and they will match your PCB board. I would only do this if the data is critical, as you can buy a brand new drive for less.
Old 12-28-2017, 02:28 AM   #3
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team

As long as the circuit board is the only one that is fried, replacing would help. If you're not comfortable around electronics, then this may not be the best option.

And as Spunk mentioned, the challenge is getting the exact firmware rev for your drive, there are ways to workaround this as well, but that involves building a separate cable and connect the HDD and run AT Commands, which is tough even for some techie folks.