Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Seagate Backup+ 5TB no power

This is a discussion on Seagate Backup+ 5TB no power within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Seagate SRD00F2 5TB no power light. I've been doing a lot of research, experimenting, etc. Already tried plugging it into


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2020, 10:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Post Falls, Idaho
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3

My System


Seagate SRD00F2 5TB no power light.
I've been doing a lot of research, experimenting, etc.
Already tried plugging it into the wall, different cables, usb ports, etc etc etc.

I've got it open and the HD out.
Will the case light power on without the HD?...
My wife and I have the same HD, if my HD is fried (hoping not) will it toast her case?...
wanting to try a swap to see if I can transfer the data to another drive (the new HD is a seagate "add on" drive not a "backup" drive) One more thing, these HD'S are formatted on xbox one for games and apps, not media...
Am I just sol on 2.5tb of lost data, trying to avoid shelling out $100-$150 for recov.
Meridon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2020, 02:38 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 831
OS: Win98SE



Does the drive still spin up?
fzabkar is offline  
Old 01-05-2020, 03:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Post Falls, Idaho
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by fzabkar View Post
Does the drive still spin up?
No...nothing seems to have any power...I did take the board off the drive...the connection spots underneath (if you've seen the pcb) that connect it to the pins of the HD unit itself...looked pretty worn out (ummmm...toasted...lol)...did the normal alcohol cleaning...still nothing...
Meridon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2020, 06:17 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 831
OS: Win98SE



Can you show us detailed photos of each side of the HDD PCB and the USB-SATA bridge PCB?

Did you overvolt the enclosure with the wrong adapter?

Does the drive spin up if you connect it to a SATA port on your computer's motherboard? Note that the data will probably be inaccessible because Seagate's externals are configured with a 4KB sector size.
fzabkar is offline  
Old 01-06-2020, 11:10 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Post Falls, Idaho
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3

My System

Ok...I've got pics...even without looking at the pics, is a case swap possible?...and I don't have a free sata...haven't had a tower since 2005...don't have a lot of local options either...moved to libby,mt, last summer...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200106_112930_1578337566796.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	216.9 KB
ID:	324946   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200106_113021_1578337617209.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	225.2 KB
ID:	324948   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200106_113232_1578337667559.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	324950  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200106_114141_1578337706864.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	137.0 KB
ID:	324952   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200106_114552_1578337739652.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	151.6 KB
ID:	324954  
Meridon is offline  
Old 01-06-2020, 12:46 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 831
OS: Win98SE



I can't see any signs of physical damage. Do you have a multimeter? If so, we could measure some voltage test points.

For example, TP26 on the bridge board is the +5V supply. Also measure the voltage at L6 nearby.
fzabkar is offline  
Old 01-08-2020, 03:04 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Post Falls, Idaho
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3

My System

Ok...took me a couple days to get a meter...but...here's what I've got...measuring dc...tp26 reads 170mV...and L6 reads as 5.05V 5.15V, tested both sides...
Meridon is offline  
Old 01-08-2020, 04:05 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Post Falls, Idaho
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3

My System

Tp26 was using the power pack on a surge protector...plugged it into the wall and now reading 65mV...
Meridon is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 08:15 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Post Falls, Idaho
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by fzabkar View Post
I can't see any signs of physical damage. Do you have a multimeter? If so, we could measure some voltage test points.

For example, TP26 on the bridge board is the +5V supply. Also measure the voltage at L6 nearby.
I'm guessing it's the bridge somewhere?...
Meridon is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 09:17 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 831
OS: Win98SE



There is a 5V converter on the bridge PCB. It appears to be working correctly. TP26 is the SATA +5V supply for the HDD. When the bridge is working correctly, the bridge IC (location U1) turns on transistors Q1, Q2 and Q3. These then switch the +12V and +5V supplies to the corresponding pins at the SATA power connector.

Since there is nothing at TP26, this would suggest that the +5V SATA power is not being switched on. I would also check TP25. That's SATA +12V. If TP25 is also at 0V, then either the bridge IC is dead, or the USB data pins are open. Do you see the same voltages at TP25 and TP26 with and without the USB cable connected to the host computer? Some bridge firmware needs to detect a host computer before it will power up the attached HDD.

Can you measure the resistances of the TVS diodes and zero-ohm resistors on your HDD PCB?
https://www.users.on.net/~fzabkar/HD...0DM000_TVS.jpg (similar, but not identical PCB)

Use the 200 ohms range on your meter.
fzabkar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts