Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Running out of Disc back Up Space- Drive D is full

This is a discussion on Running out of Disc back Up Space- Drive D is full within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Dell computer XPS 410 with a Intel core 2 cpu [email protected] Ghz and I am running Windows


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2010, 07:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
OS: WIN 7



I have a Dell computer XPS 410 with a Intel core 2 cpu [email protected] Ghz and I am running Windows 7 with 2,0 gb ram and 32 bit operating system. I can not run the autoback up routine without getting the low disc error. recently, I moved the old backup file Jonathan-PC to a new area and the back up ran but now I have 17.5 mb of space left i my D drive. I tried to change the options of where the backup goes (right now it looks like it is 7.5 gb).
Any suggestions.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	d drive weiland.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	341.8 KB
ID:	73531  
jweiland1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2010, 09:42 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



your D is a recovery partition on your single drive it is not an actual drive

you will have to keep your backups on C partition


install another hard drive



dai is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 07:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
OS: WIN 7



For some reason, I believe that the automated backups can not be switched to the c drive- they are forced to the d drive which is limited to 10 gb.
Thanks in advance.
jweiland1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2010, 08:09 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you set where they are stored when you set up the backup to run



dai is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 11:31 AM   #5
2xg
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,454
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

Another good pratice is to use an external device to do your backups. I would recommend a NAS Device. You may plug this in to your router or switch or use the USB cable and plug it directly to your computer. This Device can definitely be shared off from your network.
2xg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts