Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Replacing my old HDD

This is a discussion on Replacing my old HDD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey y'all, As you can see I still have me old Toshiba L500 satellite laptop: - Intel Core i3 CPU


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2018, 09:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
OS: wins7



Hey y'all,

As you can see I still have me old Toshiba L500 satellite laptop:
- Intel Core i3 CPU M330 2.13GHz
- 4GB RAM
- 500GB HDD
- Windows 7 Home Premium

Unfortunately, the HDD is starting to come to an end. Not sure how long exactly but I found out some useful info using CrystalDiskInfo. So it seems my HDD has done almost 60,000hours, close to 3,500 restart and 'Health Status' Cautious. It was running pretty slow until I started deleting a lot files and freed up to 100gb and was running better especially copying files, etc.

I have been looking around for a new HDD and stumbled over the new Seagate Firecuda 1tb 2.5-inch. Will have it ready once my old HDD fail. I mainly use my laptop for watching movies and tv programs so not a lot of heavy machinery. Was thinking if I could install the firecuda. What do you think?

Questions;
1. What HDD would you recommend for my Toshiba satellite instead?
2. Could I still use Windows 7 once I install the new HDD?
3. Is there any effective method when installing a new HDD i.e. backup files, reinstall programs?

Would kindly appreciate any advice

Many thanks in advance.
comeatme2014 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2018, 11:08 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,602
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Seagate's okay but I prefer WD Black's 5-year warranty.

Yes, you can still use your same Windows on the new hard drive.

One of the easiest ways to transfer everything from your old still running hard drive onto a new hard drive (or SSD) is with a Apricorn SATA-to-USB Notebook Hard Drive Upgrade Kit - $20.99. Attach the new hard drive to the SATA connector, the USB end to a USB port on your notebook, then install and start up their transfer program. Once it's done transferring everything, replace the old with the new and power back up. That's it, you're done.

No reinstalling Windows, reinstalling all of your programs, getting all of your data files back in the right place, getting everything set back up just the way you had it on the old hard drive. $21 bucks, done.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 01-21-2018, 07:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
OS: wins7



OMG! Thanks Spy. Had no idea there was a kit upgrade that makes it heaps easier. Just finished watching youtube and the setup looks easy to use.

I have another question which popped up when watching youtube. I noticed that person bought a SSD 120gb and his HDD had files with almost 500gb. However, when he cloned to the new SSD it used almost 90gb.
- How can this be if HDD is 500gb or I wonder he only used 90gb on his 500gb HDD?
- If my old HDD is RPM 5400, and new HDD is RPM7200 will still work on my laptop?

Just trying to wrap my head around it.

Great, so far I can buy the Upgrade kit and possibly WD Black or SSD.
- SSD: Why so expensive and so little disk space? I think will get the WD Black then.

Not to push it but is there anything else? What do you guys do with the old HDD?

Thanks again.
comeatme2014 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2018, 12:52 AM   #4
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



- Probably the user cleaned up old stuff on the hard drive, if you're a STEAM gamer, games eat up 100 GB of space easy with just 3-4 games, so the user would have switched over data files, such as music, videos, big files to a Data hard disk (secondary) instead of the SSD.
- If you're using a SSD, it does not have RPM, since there are no mechanical functions in a SSD, hence the life expectancy is longer compared to a traditional mechanical hard drive.
- ^ As explained and SSD's I/O throughput is way higher than a mechanical drive. Worth the money although you need to ensure you limit the type of the Applications you install to the SSD. File/Folder Management should be done efficiently to exploit the SSD to it's fullest.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 01-22-2018, 08:06 AM   #5
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,602
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
OMG! Thanks Spy. Had no idea there was a kit upgrade that makes it heaps easier. Just finished watching youtube and the setup looks easy to use.
You're selcome.


Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
I have another question which popped up when watching youtube. I noticed that person bought a SSD 120gb and his HDD had files with almost 500gb. However, when he cloned to the new SSD it used almost 90gb.
- How can this be if HDD is 500gb or I wonder he only used 90gb on his 500gb HDD?
Yep, they must have only had 90GB of stuff to move.


Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
- If my old HDD is RPM 5400, and new HDD is RPM7200 will still work on my laptop?
Just trying to wrap my head around it.
Yes it'll work, and be a bit faster. Nowhere near as fast as an SSD though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
Great, so far I can buy the Upgrade kit and possibly WD Black or SSD.
- SSD: Why so expensive and so little disk space? I think will get the WD Black then.
Years ago, SSD's used to be e-x-p-e-n-s-i-v-e to make. Now-a-days they're probably priced at whatever the market will bear.


Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
Not to push it but is there anything else? What do you guys do with the old HDD?
Data storage. (Backups, pics, music, docs, etc.). On my systems the OS and majority of Program Files go on the SSDs ... so they load faster.


Quote:
Originally Posted by comeatme2014 View Post
Thanks again.
No problem.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 01-22-2018, 07:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
OS: wins7



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
- Probably the user cleaned up old stuff on the hard drive, if you're a STEAM gamer, games eat up 100 GB of space easy with just 3-4 games, so the user would have switched over data files, such as music, videos, big files to a Data hard disk (secondary) instead of the SSD.
- If you're using a SSD, it does not have RPM, since there are no mechanical functions in a SSD, hence the life expectancy is longer compared to a traditional mechanical hard drive.
- ^ As explained and SSD's I/O throughput is way higher than a mechanical drive. Worth the money although you need to ensure you limit the type of the Applications you install to the SSD. File/Folder Management should be done efficiently to exploit the SSD to it's fullest.
I don't have any games on my laptop but lately been watching a lot of TV and MOVIES . So that means they backed up the data files to HDD(secondary)? I get it now. I don't think I have a secondary I can only see one connection slot to my laptop HDD or is secondary also an external HDD plugged into the usb? I see now, that's why PC have more HDD slots and you can keep it separate as you said "OS and Programs on SSD" and videos, pictures files on a secondary HDD or new WD Black.

Hmm maybe I should buy a PC too? I have my laptop connected to a 24inch monitor on my desk in my room which is the reason why I enjoy watching TV in my bed with wireless headphones...gotta make sure no one can hear the sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Yep, they must have only had 90GB of stuff to move.

Data storage. (Backups, pics, music, docs, etc.). On my systems the OS and majority of Program Files go on the SSDs ... so they load faster.
That's what I was thinking. Cool.

Are you guys using a laptop? I noticed some newer laptops have a secondary HDD slot?

I did some looking around and it seems the Kit upgrade is close to $70 on Ebay AUS? Will see if I can buy it on Amazon it seems cheaper than Ebay. Even the WD Black and Seagate Firecuda is cheaper on Amazon. Will report back once I sort it out.
comeatme2014 is offline  
Old 01-22-2018, 08:17 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
OS: wins7



Hey guys, not gonna believe this. I did some more youtube vids and saw where you can add a secondary by removing the optical DVD drive. So here is what I am thinking.

Products to buy:
- Apricon Sata upgrade kit
- SSD for OS and Programs
- New HDD either WD Black or Firecuda
- Hard drive Caddy

Works out perfectly because I don't barely use my DVD drive and plus I have an eternal DVD drive plug into usb too

Now I guess it will come down to the price hmm...
comeatme2014 is offline  
Old 01-22-2018, 11:31 PM   #8
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Yep, that's a hack that's used to ensure that space is not wasted, but be very careful with measurements LxHxW because even half inch makes a huge difference in a laptop and can leave your case open.

So read a lot on the internet and look specifically for someone who has hacked the exact same model of laptop that you have and understand pros and cons before moving ahead.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 01-23-2018, 03:31 AM   #9
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,602
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Yep, I've done that HD-Caddy upgrade a few times now. Mostly Lenovo/IBM ThinkPads and a couple of Dells. They work good. Better use of the space.

I do have a couple of Laptops, couple of Desktops, QNAP Server, 10" tablet, etc. My main computer is one of the Desktops with a couple of 24" 4K IPS Dell monitors. Wife uses a laptop with three 23" IPS monitors (4 total screens). She also has another smaller laptop that she travels with.

As tristar already mentioned, be sure and double-check the height (thickness) of your current hard drive so you don't end up with one that is too tall. I've seen 2.5" SATA HD heights of: 5, 6.8, 7, 9.5 and 15 mm.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:52 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
OS: wins7



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
Yep, that's a hack that's used to ensure that space is not wasted, but be very careful with measurements LxHxW because even half inch makes a huge difference in a laptop and can leave your case open.

So read a lot on the internet and look specifically for someone who has hacked the exact same model of laptop that you have and understand pros and cons before moving ahead.
True that. Will make sure have the right measurements. Yeah I went on Toshiba website and the model I have is obsolete? I have the pdf file similar to a manual but not much details. Gonna have to Geronimo to test it once I have it delivered and make sure refund is 100%

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Yep, I've done that HD-Caddy upgrade a few times now. Mostly Lenovo/IBM ThinkPads and a couple of Dells. They work good. Better use of the space.

I do have a couple of Laptops, couple of Desktops, QNAP Server, 10" tablet, etc. My main computer is one of the Desktops with a couple of 24" 4K IPS Dell monitors. Wife uses a laptop with three 23" IPS monitors (4 total screens). She also has another smaller laptop that she travels with.

As tristar already mentioned, be sure and double-check the height (thickness) of your current hard drive so you don't end up with one that is too tall. I've seen 2.5" SATA HD heights of: 5, 6.8, 7, 9.5 and 15 mm.
Wow Spy, that is really hard core. No wonder you're an expert on computers Even your wife has more than one monitor. That's awesome I always wanted to try something similar even to have two monitors but I don't have room on my small desk in my room.

Well I have done my homework and we'll make the order. Probably can only afford a few this week and buy the rest after.

Cheers guys will let you know how I go
comeatme2014 is offline  
Old 01-24-2018, 06:45 AM   #11
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,602
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Don't know about expert, just been fiddling with 'em for ... getting close 4 decades now.

You can hang monitors on the wall for ~$12 (USD) each: https://www.amazon.com/Suptek-Articu...KF6SE59RFX62VD They work great.

Best of luck. Keep us posted ...
SpywareDr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HDD wont work in new build, but works in old PC
Hello! I am new to these forums and need a little help... So I recently purchased an entirely new bunch of hardware for a new build. They comprise of: Asus H81M-PLUS Motherboard (Socket 1150, Intel H81, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Micro ATX, PCI Express 2.0, HDMI, USB 3.0) Intel Core...
Wizadora87 Hard Drive Support 4 05-13-2014 08:01 PM
[SOLVED] Noob needs help with new HDD & USB3.0 to Sata adapter
I'm desperate right now. I just spend two hours googling and haven't been able to find a solution. I'm terrified that my new HDD is DoA, but I'm hoping it's a different issue. So here's the deal. I built a PC a year ago. It's running Windows 7 on a small SSD and then I have my old 500GB HDD as...
bushid0 Hard Drive Support 11 03-02-2014 03:33 PM
[SOLVED] No display when booting after replacing HDD
Hi guys, Wasn't quite sure which forum to put this in, but, this is the scenario. I'll spare you the details of my second computer, but long story short, in order to install Linux onto this HDD which was in my second, smaller computer, I had to put it into my bigger computer (After removing my...
Alumian Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 10-01-2011 12:33 AM
Slow startup / hdd missing
So my pc is acting very weird. First of, my hdd keeps dissapearing. My hdd is only used for storage of downloaded files. It is not the boot drive. Sometimes when i download files, the hdd will suddenly disappear. For no reason. It seems like the hdd only disappear when its being used. I dont...
leverpostei Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 07-02-2011 03:58 AM
External HDD stopped working
Hello, When I started my laptop yesterday and wanted to listen to some music, which is stored on my external HDD, it asked me to reformat the HDD. I didn't want to reformat the HDD so I went looking around google for a few hours and tried out all the solutions I could find. I first saw...
unknown666 Hard Drive Support 4 01-25-2011 11:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts