Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Removed HDD and Reconnected

This is a discussion on Removed HDD and Reconnected within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. windows runs and all programs work but cant copy or delete files. tried to reset PC doesnt work also tried


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2018, 06:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
OS:


Question

windows runs and all programs work but cant copy or delete files.
tried to reset PC doesnt work also tried all the other recovery options windows provides nothing works.
pavitranpavi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2018, 07:51 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Need some more details, or screenshots of what happens when you try to copy..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 06-11-2018, 09:25 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by tristar View Post
Need some more details, or screenshots of what happens when you try to copy..
No response to show actually.when i right click it doesnt show the copy options the only available options are share via shareit and the wifi driver is not visible and the only way to connect to internet is through mobile tethering or LAN.

Refresh doesnt work , i cant even left click on the desktop to get the options to refresh keyboard shortcuts dont work either ctrl+c,ctrl+v,shift+del,F5,... nothing works
pavitranpavi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2018, 09:34 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,599
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Which Operating System and version is your computer running?

Is this an internal or external drive?

Same problem when you connect the drive to another computer?
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 06-11-2018, 09:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Which Operating System and version is your computer running?

Is this an internal or external drive?

Same problem when you connect the drive to another computer?
windows 10 x64 , internal hard disk

i havent tried connecting to another computer.

i think the version is 10.0.17134.48 (found this on cmd)
presently using DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image / Restorehealth

it reached 85.6 % and been stuck there for over an hour
pavitranpavi is offline  
Old 06-11-2018, 10:14 AM   #6
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,599
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



I'd let it run, overnight if necessary.
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 06-11-2018, 10:21 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
I'd let it run, overnight if necessary.
yup was thinking the same ..any other things i could try if it doesnt work
pavitranpavi is offline  
Old 06-11-2018, 10:29 AM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,599
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Next I would try:
sfc /scannow
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 06-11-2018, 11:17 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Next I would try:
sfc /scannow
ok will try and let you know..thank you
pavitranpavi is offline  
Old 06-11-2018, 12:19 PM   #10
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,599
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



You're welcome.
SpywareDr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK to run a HDD with the SATA cable disconnected
I'm wondering if it's OK to run a HDD with the SATA cable disconnected? Or would it be better to disconnect both the SATA and the power? I was playing with a Linux/Debian distro -- and when I re-connected my main LMDE/2 distro -- it wouldn't boot correctly: Boot Loop. the loop would restart...
mike acker Hard Drive Support 3 04-13-2017 02:17 PM
Toshiba Satellite A500-132 powers on but screen stays black, no hdd or fan sounds
Toshiba Satellite A500-132, Windows 7 (formatted 1 week ago). So 2 days ago while my laptop was turned on i closed the lid, packed it and took it with me. 1 hour later had to use it so i opened the lid tried to power on. It did but screen was black and i could hear no sound of functionality. ...
chrismoi Laptop Support 5 11-16-2015 05:50 AM
[SOLVED] PC won't boot with reconnected hard drive
I recently acquired a new computer to replace my old Compaq d330 Microtower. To keep all my data I removed the hard drive intending to slave it (as I had done when I replaced my previous computer with the d330), but the connectors were different, there was a smaller connector in the new one. I...
EzPz Hard Drive Support 4 11-06-2012 11:23 AM
HDD Gone Wrong - Please Help!!
I've exhausted every possible solution I can think of by myself and I'm just here to see if anybody can help me. Basically, the story goes as follow: Last week my little Acer netbook took a pretty descent hit that made it "unbootable"..the screen said "windows loading files" but it gave me...
eddie_nitti Hard Drive Support 6 11-22-2011 11:17 AM
Buffalo External HDD problem.
I have a Buffalo HD-CE604U2-EU external HDD which has recently "died". One minute it was working fine, transfering music to my girlfriends laptop, but when it was reconnected to the main pc it now no longer works. Windows can see that the drive is connected but it now only shows up as 'Drive E'...
Cod_Metal_King Hard Drive Support 1 03-02-2011 07:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts