Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Raid setup

This is a discussion on Raid setup within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am wanting to do a RAID setup in my pc. I currently have 1 1TB WD Velociraptor HD,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2019, 07:06 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 470
OS: Windows 7



Hello, I am wanting to do a RAID setup in my pc. I currently have 1 1TB WD Velociraptor HD, I'm worried it could go out at any time due to age. Most stuff is backed up. Can I buy another identical drive and install it in a RAID configuration with no issues or will I have to format both.... yada yada yada? If so, I will shop for 2 new drives.
YSRRider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2019, 08:58 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,587
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Which type RAID? Software or hardware based?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RAID_levels

https://datapacket.com/blog/advantag...s-raid-levels/
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 08-13-2019, 09:20 AM   #3
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



You want RAID for backup ? I'd recommend going with a Backup solution for your data, preferably a Cloud based backup.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2019, 07:51 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 470
OS: Windows 7



RAID 1 I believe. I wanted mirrored drives so if one failed, I could replace it and be back up and going. If my logic is incorrect, correct me. Yes, I should probably have a cloud as well. any recommendations? I am not much of a fan of western digital if they are still encrypting their hard drives. I have 1 2TB external that fell on the floor after someone tripped over the cord and its now junk. I assume the card inside is bad and thats what encrypts the drive..... ordinarily I could have just plugged it in as a raw storage device and removed my data. Is there a quick way to backup my passwords and all that on google chrome? sorry, been a while since I have done all this. technology evolving too quickly.
YSRRider is offline  
Old 08-14-2019, 09:16 AM   #5
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



You're correct, you can replace a Disk on the go and you'll be back up, the usual recommendation for RAID1 Mirroring, is to have the same drives with the same capacity, manufacturer and model.

While there are tweaks to get dissimilar drives setup as well, but there are always chances for issues to crop up.

To setup RAID, it's recommended to go with a Hardware solution, but can still be done through Windows. If this is your first RAID setup, then backup the DISK completely before even attempting any of this.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-14-2019, 09:19 AM   #6
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,587
OS: W10P64; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Yes, RAID 1 is a mirror. More info here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standa..._levels#RAID_1

Even with that though, you still need a routine of regular backups of which some are kept offsite in case of a catastrophic event. (Such as malware infection, encryption or destruction, lightning strike, flood, theft, fire, etc.).
SpywareDr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts