Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Question about Full System Recovery

This is a discussion on Question about Full System Recovery within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm going to wipe my HD clean and I wanted to know something crucial. In my Windows Startup manual it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2007, 09:00 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



I'm going to wipe my HD clean and I wanted to know something crucial. In my Windows Startup manual it says that I'm supposed to "disconnect all peripheral devices from the PC except for the monitior, keyboard and the mouse" before I proceed with cleaning the HD.

My question is....Do I also have to disconnect my video card???
Rambone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2007, 09:03 PM   #2
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,339
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambone View Post
I'm going to wipe my HD clean and I wanted to know something crucial. In my Windows Startup manual it says that I'm supposed to "disconnect all peripheral devices from the PC except for the monitior, keyboard and the mouse" before I proceed with cleaning the HD.

My question is....Do I also have to disconnect my video card???
Hello and Welcome to TSF,
No you do not ,and cannot disconnect the video card as that is what your monitor connects to. If you have a video card and onboard video you'll need to disable the onboard video in the Bios.
mattlock is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:05 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


No don't disconnect anything inside the computer this is not necassary. Just disconnect things like printers, joysticks,camera's ect. till you get windows installed then add the extras one at a time
Doby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2007, 09:08 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



k thanks
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:22 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



Oh...and one more question...do I have to re-install my drivers after I reboot???
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:55 PM   #6
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,339
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambone View Post
Oh...and one more question...do I have to re-install my drivers after I reboot???
Yes, when you "wipe a HD clean" all your programs, data, and Drivers will be gone.
After the Windows install is complete, you'll have to install all the drivers for you motherboard and onboard devices. Then re-install all your programs.
mattlock is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:04 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



Last question...Does my G: get cleaned as well or is it just my C:???
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:22 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambone View Post
Last question...Does my G: get cleaned as well or is it just my C:???
Hi,
Is G: located on the HDD as C:? If so - when you "wipe the HD clean" all data in both partitions will be erased. On the other hand - during reinstallation of XP you will have the choice to format C: and leave G: as it is.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:28 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



I have a 300GB harddrive installed in my C: and a 82GB harddrive installed in my G:

I also have a 500GB harddrive that I'm using to backup the files on both drives before I wipe the HD's clean.
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:36 AM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



So you're going to reinstall Windows on C:, which is the only partition on the 300 GB HDD? Then there shouldn't be any problems - just make sure you choose the C: drive during the re-install.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:42 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



Yeah, the only files that are on my G: are mp3 files and pictures. All of my program data is located on the C:
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:51 AM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Are you going to use 300 GB for Windows and programs only? How much space are you using for Windows/programs now?
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:59 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by eneles View Post
Are you going to use 300 GB for Windows and programs only? How much space are you using for Windows/programs now?

NO, I'm going to use the 300GB for other things like storing pictures and mp3s and a few games.
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:04 AM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



It might be a good idea to create a partition for Windows/programs and another partition for storage on the 300 GB HDD. That way you won't have to backup/move the stored files in case you have to format the C: drive again.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:08 AM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by eneles View Post
It might be a good idea to create a partition for Windows/programs and another partition for storage on the 300 GB HDD. That way you won't have to backup/move the stored files in case you have to format the C: drive again.
I don't really NEED to though because I have my files organized in such a way that backing them up isn't at all a hassle.
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:17 AM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



OK - then just reinstall Windows on the C: drive.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:25 AM   #17
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



OK.

So if I'm correct, I won't need to format the G:???
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:29 AM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambone View Post
OK.

So if I'm correct, I won't need to format the G:???
Yes, that is correct. You don't have to format G:.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:32 AM   #19
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



Good. Thanks for clearing that up for me. I can't believe I've been working with computers for over 9 years and this is the first time I've had to do this (clean the drives).
Rambone is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 07:01 AM   #20
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
OS:



BTW, when I was formatting my external HD, there was an option to "enable compression". What is that?
Rambone is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
system crashes
i keep gettin sysyem crashes for some time now but i cant get to the bottom of them. i saved the xml file and this is wot it says anyone got any ideas wot is causin them cheers :rolleyes: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="Unicode" ?> - <SYSTEMINFO> - <SYSTEM> <OSNAME>Microsoft Windows XP...
dexyweescot Windows XP Support 2 03-16-2008 01:39 AM
Alcra.B, Sillyp2p & dedler.worm...OH MY!
Hello there, My problems started about 3 days ago when I would try to use ACDSee and the computer would freeze up. I would open Task Manager and CPU usage would be around 98% for explorer.exe - I would end that process and would have no desktop. Then I started having problems with LimeWire and...
Smithson Resolved HJT Threads 8 02-19-2006 11:04 AM
Check my post for struggling_here (ricvai) [resolved]
https://www.techsupportforum.com/showthread.php?p=368269#post368269 Hi there I have tried posting this elsewhere and have had no replies so I thought I would post my hijackthis logs and see if anyone can help me here. Symptoms I am trying to overcome:
Ricvai Resolved Back Me Up Threads 20 10-17-2005 10:55 AM
Cool Web Search/New Strain
I knew I had problems when I walked into the compuer room and saw my compter trying to set up the virtual mail server. I promptly shut it down and did a htl and it showed up in 23 as tcp, did not save that log. I ran every possible program that I have even did a Pandora and Micro Trend on line...
pope1901 Resolved HJT Threads 8 07-12-2005 10:48 AM
Och Aye, Help!! StartPGA.UA Nicking My Details!
:wave: :sayno: :wave: Hope everyone in the forum is well, been a while since i was logged on. Just got my pc unpacked and the 'net is a nightmare - keeps saying details are being stolen, really not sure what to do, but hope someone here can help. I'd just like to give BIG thanks to "CTSNKY"...
shamm Inactive Malware Help Topics 13 02-11-2005 03:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts